We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Ranked #7 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This was fantastic”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The staff here is responsible and very very cool and helpful in equal parts. What they know they tell and what they don't they are honest about. Happily they know a whole lot about their town. The restaurant was fantastic and well priced for breakfast. I loved it and so did my daughter. We will truly be back again and again. I think this started a Chatt tradition for us. On top of that they were really nice to my kid and that matters. We had a fantastic time and will be back this Fall.
I read the reviews and people are really expecting the wrong things. The room is small because you are in the heart of the city. The staff works hard and if you don't get caught up on the silly not home things that don't matter you can have a really great getaway.

Room Tip: I think the higher the better so you can see water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust30268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    311
    107
    42
    31
See reviews for
336
327
41
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Doubletree from June 3-5, 2011. We drove up from Atlanta. The room was ready when we arrived and was clean and comfortable. We had no issues checking in. It is true that the non-valet parking lot is a bit of a walk to the hotel. Usually this is no issue, but with the temperature being ~ 95F it was not ideal.

Service issues began on Friday night. We ordered room service that included two bottled beers. Unfortunately, by the time we noticed that no bottle opener was provided, room service had stopped. When I called the front desk about having a bottle opener brought up, I was told that I needed to take the beers to their bar and they would open them up for me. It was 11pm at this point. So, that is what I did. By no means, not the end of the world, but annoying nonetheless.

Sat. am - we were not planning on heading out until 12 or so (we had our infant son with us). As I was putting the cart from room service out in the hall (around 10:30am), I ran into a member of housekeeping. He asked if I wanted the room serviced. When I asked if he (or someone) could come back after 12, he said housekeeping leaves at noon. He did give me some fresh towels. When I mentioned this to my wife, she naturally asked - what do they do when people check-out? Who cleans the room in the afternoon? Again, it just seemed as if they would not do anything beyond the minimum.

We returned from the wedding we attended around 10pm, and their were no spots in the guest parking lot. They did park my car in the valet lot. In the morning, however, there were no valets to get my car.

For a short visit to Chattanooga, the Doubletree is satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indian_Baldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Doubletree Hotel is a very nice hotel. The service was excellent and the staff were very helpful. The beds are very comfortable. I do recommend this hotel to everyone. I'm sure you will enojoy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2011

To start off the staff was incredible! We were on a "girls weekend" and we could not have asked for a better vacation hotel. They accommodated our every need and went out of their way to make sure our stay was successful. The outdoor pool was small but the company was friendly. The bar inside of the hotel was fun and upbeat. We were very impressed with our stay at the DoubleTree and we will be visiting again very soon!

Room Tip: Be polite and not to pushy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacey7789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

The hotel is wonderful and so is the staff. Family friendly and very easy access to the Chattanooga Attractions. Wonderful heated pool area and great dining on-site at Eleven.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The hotel is in a good location, stylishly decorated though out. Rooms were very clean. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and pleasant. We had a terrific experiance.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dooley1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Although this was a lovely hotel, the staff is very young and not knowledgeable about hotel hospitality. They had no knowledge of local restaurants and attractions. And when I asked at the front desk about something we lost, the young lady just shrugged her shoulders...? The "bar" was dull, no atmosphere. The firepit was never lit. The buffet breakfast was nice. I was happy to have access to a cappuccino / latte machine. I think if the help was as high class as the hotel's appearance, it would have made for a nicer stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waspanowga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.5 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Address: 407 Chestnut Street, Chattanooga, TN 37402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#8 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
#13 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Hotel Chattanooga, located just off of I-27, offers full-service, upscale accommodations in the heart of downtown Chattanooga within blocks of the Tennessee River and Riverfront attractions, the Tennessee Aquarium, IMAX-3D Theater, UT Chattanooga, museums, restaurants, shops, and the Convention & Trade Center. Our modern hotel is only 20 minutes west of Chattanooga Municipal Airport (CHA) and is convenient to the nearby downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Chattanooga
Clarion Chattanooga
Chattanooga Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing