We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy shakes and ice cream” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clumpies Ice Cream Co.

Clumpies Ice Cream Co.
Ranked #1 of 28 Dessert in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Clumpies Ice Cream Co. has been handcrafting the best ice cream in Chattanooga since 1999. Stop by today to enjoy a scoop, fresh cup of Chattz coffee, or a fresh Pure Sodaworks fountain beverage!
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy shakes and ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a hot summer day there's nothing quite like ice cream and Clumpies is a great place to stop in for it. On a holiday weekend my husband and I stopped in after a bike ride and got a couple of delicious vanilla milk shakes. SO GOOD!!! They make milk shakes in every flavor they have of ice cream. If you go late afternoon on a hot weekend you can expect that the rest of Chattanooga will be thinking the same and will all be in line ahead of you. But who goes to get ice cream in a hurry anyway? It's locally owned and has that hometown feel. It's worth the money and the wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmsalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    85
    23
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

It was a beautiful, sunny day and everyone had one thing on their mind - ice cream! Although the line seemed long, it moved at a swift pace. The employees were friendly and helpful. They were making fresh waffle cones as we waited in line - scrumptious! My husband, son and I each tried different flavors, and they were all delicious and creamy.

This is one of those special places that everyone needs to try at least once (but I promise that once is not enough)!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank msubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, TN
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“I'll pay a nickel more more oz if you hire more help”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Always like the ice cream at Clumpies and today was no exception. Was there with the family about 5pm on Saturday. Lots of interesting flavors of ice cream. The waffle cones are as fresh as possible.

Would have rated higher, should have rated today lower, but really enjoyed the ice cream. The wait in line was just so long. The line was to the back door and curled around. It took us 50 min from when we got in line until our order was filled. There were only three workers and they were going as fast as they could. I am sure they were tired, but they continued to smile and were friendly. Was happy to leave them a nice tip as they were doing their best in an understaffed situation. Please get more help for those obvious busy times.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert37363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a cool place to visit in a neat little area of downtown. The ice cream was great and reasonably priced. They had good Christian music playing over the speakers. The atomsphere is great and the customer service is also great. Very nice place to bring the kids. Tip: Try the Cookies and Cream ice cream. It's my favorite!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It was pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Clumpies has pretty good ice cream, and great waffle cones. The interior needs work, and the customer service could be improved. I'd like to see them using some more sustainable & local dairy products (if they currently do, I am not aware...but they should say if they do). I may go back but I don't think it's a must-visit in Chattanooga.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VisitTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clumpies Ice Cream Co. also viewed

 

Been to Clumpies Ice Cream Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing