We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Tennessee”
Review of Bluff View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluff View Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tour of Tennessee”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wonderful location and setting. Descriptions of the art district & Riverwalk spot on. We stayed in the Martin House in a river facing room with fireplace. Room was nicely furnished & decorated. Bathtub needed to be refinished: the wear makes it look dirty. Included breakfast was good, but not as extravagant as other B&B's at this price point. We had an excellent dinner @ Back Inn Cafe. We enjoyed meandering around the neighborhood and through the shops. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    64
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
136
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Outstanding, stayed in the Anna Houston room, recommend to anyone. Easy walk to down town and the restaurants. Recommend Dinner at the Easy Bistro and Back inn Cafe. Dinner at the Blue Water as always is exceptional. Went on the Back stage tour of the Aquarium. It was OK, do not recommend it was not what we expected it to be. River walk was great and if you are a cigar smoler I recommend your check out the Davidoff cigar lounge, Burns tobaconist, fabulous upscale place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djf58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Love this place. I friend from Chattanooga recommended it, and we were delighted that we were able to stay there. The Anna Houston room in the Martin House has lots of windows, so you get to enjoy lots of sunlight and views of the river. And what a perfect location. We parked our car when we arrived and walked everywhere we wanted to go. And the Back Inn Cafe, located on the back of the Martin House, is fabulous. The fish of the day we had (red grouper with lobster risotto and crispy parsnips) was absolutely amazing. Sure hope to go back sometime soon.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My husband and I took a mini-vacation to Chattanooga and stayed in this lovely old home. We had a 3rd floor suite with a wonderful view of the river. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted to see--the Hunter Museum, art galleries and the pedestrian bridge. Hostess provided us with good restaurant recommendations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We stated 1 night at the end of a road trip, on the way back to Atlanta. Great location and nice and clean but due to the age of the property the floorboards all creaked and every time you moved in bed it was really noisy. The matress springs felt old and we didn't get a great night's sleep, sadly. Coffee at Rembrandts, for breakfast, was disappointing but the fruit and croissants were great. We loved walking across the pedestrian bridge to the North Shore.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S-ABSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridianville, Alabama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We recently stayed at the Bluff View Inn. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. First and foremost, the B&B is located in the art district which is just a wonderful location. Second, check-in was a breeze. Once checked in we were shown around by the Innkeeper. This was a nice touch. Third, breakfast was outstanding. They give you the option of eating at the Maclellan House or taking your food voucher to Rembrandt's Cafe. We choose the former and it was fantastic. The food and service were great. Atmosphere in the dining area was top notch. Finally, the suite we stayed in was big and clean. The only thing that was not up to par was the bathroom. Some tiles were missing, toilet bowl had hair line cracks in it, and paint was peeling off the bathroom window pane. For the price of the room I did not expect this. Even so, we enjoyed our stay and would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMan3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bluff View Inn over Labor Day weekend. We only had one night to celebrate our annivesary and chose Bluff View due to the reviews here and the fact it was in the arts district. The reviews on the site are dead on. We stayed in the C.G. Martin room which was nice and had it's own private deck. The area around the inn is kind of like a European village and a nice change from the downtown area. We never used our car and could easily walk to downtown and back (you are at the top of hill though, hence the name Bluff). The staff was very helpful and kind but not overbearing. All in all it was a great time and hopefully we can get some time to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtripatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.0 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff View Inn

Property: Bluff View Inn
Address: 411 E 2nd St, Chattanooga, TN 37403-1106
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluff View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluff View Inn is the centerpiece of Chattanooga's Bluff View Art District, a creative haven of cafes, gardens and galleries. Located in one of the city's finest historic areas, the Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in lovely restored homes dating from the early 1900s. With a convenient in-town location, the Bluff View Inn provides guests with modern luxury in a comfortable setting showcasing heirloom antiques, original art and blufftop views of the Tennessee River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bluff View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff View Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing