We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway”
Review of Bluff View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluff View Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was a wonderful getaway for my husband and I. We stayed in the "The Bryan Room". It is just as the pictures show. Very neat and clean with thoughtful details (such as a nightlight in the bathroom and a flashlight in the drawer next to the bed). The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. There is a beautiful view of the river from the room. The room was very quiet - we did not hear other guests. The breakfast on Sunday morning was wonderful. Lots of delicious food and a nice variety - and more than enough (hot and cold options). There is so much to see and do in the area - all within walking distance. The aquarium is only about 1/2 mile very easy walk. There's beautiful art along the way, a glass bridge (that is beautiful day and night). We will definitely do this again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 198 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

This time I stayed longer than my last 10 hour in/out trip. The area is very trendy and the bed & breakfast room was clean, functional and worth the stay. Old fashioned, not your standard commercial type room. Everything one needs is in your room. Staff is extremely helpful. Excellent location, lots to see and do. Relax, slow down and stay here.

Room Tip: pick one to your budget, they all are good, river view quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pokher_ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Classic homes turned into B&B. Knowledgeable hostesses, great breakfast for us at Rembrandt’s Coffee House, house well maintained and very comfortable bed.

What kept this from being a 5 rating – a delivery truck’s back-up beeping for over 10 minutes starting at 5:20 AM … only to be followed by another 5-minute “wake-up” beep about 6:00 – just in case you got back to sleep! Just as I cannot give best rating to a hotel next to a construction site with jack hammers going – same rules here.

Room Tip: Room with view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My Husband and I had a couples weekend with another couple and after a lot of research we decided to choose the Bluff View Inn for our stay. For those of you not familiar or thinking of choosing this location for your next trip to Chattanooga, the Bluff View in consists of 3 seperate Inns located on the same close knit block all with in a few yards of one another. We ended up staying at the McClellan House in the Morgan Llewellyn Suite. The suite had a great little balcony with great view of the river. The bedding very nice, the couch was amazingly comfy and the closet space was huge. if you have kids they could easily use as a two room fort. Bathroom was nice and the fireplace was a romantic feature. too bad we were there in 90 degree weather or we would have loved to use it. The location to the river front and the riverbend festival was great. much of the downtown city within easy walking distance. the B&B offered breakfast either at the McClellan house which was delicious with great variety of hot and cold choices. or you can choose to use your breakfast vouchers at a quaint coffee shop across the street who has very yummy french toast and hot chocolate. Security is great with key-less entry to front door and to each individual room so you don't have to worry about added keys. Boccee ball court and outside eating/lounging area a nice bonus.

I look forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Morgan suite at the McClellan house but it was third floor with no elevator just FYI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skrep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Bluff View Inn is charming. We loved the accommodations and the restaurants on the property...and the location in the arts district close to the Aquarium can't be beat. We had breakfast at Rembrandt's, two meals at Tony's, and a dinner at Back Inn Cafe. Yum!

Room Tip: We were in the Thompson House on the first floor-a pretty room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were delighted with our stay for a Chattanooga visit! What is unique is that the Bluff View Arts District is actually a suite of inns, restaurants, coffee houses, bakeries and art gallery that are all kinda' interlocked into a physical location but also share amenities. For example, there are three lodging choices but all share a common booking and management team. For example, the italian restaurant gives preferential treatment to guests of the inns. So when you call from your room, they know you are staying in the district and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs.

The location is perfect for walking to the Hunter Museum, Riverwalk and the Aquarium.

The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Our room was charming, spotless and well appointed with extras. AND the bed was comfortable!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

First the good: beautiful rooms, great views, very clean, kind staff, super convenient, quiet

But the bad: Since it is a B&B breakfast was included, but not served at the inn. You had to walk around the corner to the Rembrandt's coffee shop for breakfast. That would have been fine except that the first morning they were out of eggs, OJ, and french toast. The second morning they were out of croissants. See my review of the coffee house for more details. Though the shortages were a coffee house management issue, I paid the Inn for my breakfast and hold them responsible for not delivering an acceptable option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Abby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,394 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Dwell Hotel
The Dwell Hotel
#27 of 96 in Chattanooga
517 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#39 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,734 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westin Chattanooga
The Westin Chattanooga
#22 of 96 in Chattanooga
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluff View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff View Inn

Address: 411 E 2nd St, Chattanooga, TN 37403-1106
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range: $140 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluff View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bluff View Inn is the centerpiece of Chattanooga's Bluff View Art District, a creative haven of cafes, gardens and galleries. Located in one of the city's finest historic areas, the Inn offers elegant overnight accommodations in lovely restored homes dating from the early 1900s. With a convenient in-town location, the Bluff View Inn provides guests with modern luxury in a comfortable setting showcasing heirloom antiques, original art and blufftop views of the Tennessee River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bluff View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluff View Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing