We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-kept B&B, relaxing atmosphere!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayor's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well-kept B&B, relaxing atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary. It was our second time staying overnight in Chattanooga--the first time, we stayed at Stone Fort Inn. We wanted to try a different B&B and judging by the past reviews, this beautiful Inn seemed a wonderful choice!

We loved the location. It was very easy to find, very close to downtown, while still not being right in the middle of the noisy tourist area. The huge rambling house itself is a beauty--fabulous architecture, and sweet historic appeal.

We were welcomed by the "innkeepers of the night", Cal and Andrew, who were both sweet and warm young men. Very polite and helpful! They showed us around the main area, showed us the menu for the breakfast and asked specifically if there was anything we needed to be switched out. This was a great follow-up from the website's reservation form, which allows space for special dietary requests. My husband has some food allergies, and I'm on a gluten-free diet currently, so this was really helpful for us. Their response was very respectful and accomodating. We were then showed to our room, and shown where the coffee bar and DVD check-out area was.

Our room was lovely! Picture perfect, and very clean (a big one for me, as our stay at Stone Fort Inn in 2011 proved otherwise, unfortunately...). We stayed in the Ocoee River room, which has a private bathroom with a bathtub/shower and toilet. I was a smidge disappointed that not more rooms had big fancy bathtubs, but the cleanliness and privacy was wonderful. Our view was the good-sized private parking lot, so not fabulous, but it still allowed for the room to be bright.

We enjoyed a movie from the small DVD collection, on a nice big-screen TV. Very relaxing!

The only draw-back to our room (and the reason we would rate this wonderful B&B as a 4 rather than a 5) was that we did not have a private in-room thermostat. The heat was set to a rather cozy setting, perfect--we joked--for single sleepers, but uncomfortable for a pregnant woman and her hubby to cuddle. :) We had to open one of the windows, and my husband eventually found a fan in the closet. Unfortunately, the temperature did affect our night's sleep, though the bed was very comfortable.

The innkeepers/staff helped us figure out how to get to the restaurant we went to for dinner, and provided a nice little hors-d'oeuvres spread before we left--I think from 6-7pm? So nice!

We enjoyed our breakfast in the morning. As other reviewers have said, it is served at little individual tables, by staff, which makes for nice privacy and the luxury of being served rather than serving yourself at a buffet. Our breakfast was adjusted based on our stated preferences, with no fuss at all. We also had the pleasure of meeting whom I assume is the inn's owner at breakfast, though she didn't formally introduce herself. She was very friendly and helpful.

After breakfast, we enjoyed lounging in one of the peaceful and authentically decorated sitting rooms on the main floor. There are many books and fun board games available there.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonasandDelice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    44
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
25
155
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visit Chattanooga quite often and this was our first stay at Mayor"s Mansion. The staff is outstanding and it is hard to beat the breakfast anywhere. The house is beautiful and the rooms are very quiet and very large . We plan to return the next time we are in Chattanooga.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cannotpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The room was on the first floor (Room 11), but was sheltered from the traffic coming and going, making for a very comfortable and enjoyable weekend. Another convenience is that there is plenty of parking at the bed and breakfast itself, as opposed to others in the area. The breakfasts that were provided were three courses each, and were very good. Overall, had a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Even though we arrived late, the staff was very polite and accommodating. The desk clerk gave us a tour and we had ordered champagne and strawberries. She offered to light the fireplace in one of the parlors for us to enjoy. She patiently waited up and cleaned up after us. Breakfast was delicious and the building was more than we expected. I would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgallo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We've been to this property 3 times over the last 2 years and have always been quite pleased with the facilities as well as the staff. They hire students to work the desk and they are always willing to assist with our questions. A couple of the students has been working there for years and years. We've stayed on the 2nd floor twice and the third floor once and recommend that you pick a different room each visit as each room has its totally unique flavor. The rooms are very quiet even with a full house of guests. Ask about their dining option cards that provide you directions and discounts for various local restaurants. Recommend taking a walk down Vine street as the historic homes are quite interesting to look at. Had a nice conversation with the current owner on the history of the house (which at one time was a funeral home) and how the building additions served the previous owner's needs. When we stay in Chatanooga, this is the only place where we would consider staying at.

Not sure we have the whole story from reviewer Julie D... The other reviewers seem to understand the value of this B&B...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmorken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hands down, this B&B offers an unforgettable experience that you will remember for many years to come! From the joyful greeting upon pulling up in their driveway to the delectable chocolate truffles and banana pecan pancakes; to the nightly turn down service, plush robes, white glove cleanliness, incredibly comfortable mattress and top notch linens......just to mention a few high notes! Most of all, the staff aim to not only exceed our expectations, but, they were truly genuine in their goal to delight us in every way. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and truly made us feel 'right at home'. We stayed in the Laurel Falls suite and really enjoyed all of the amenities especially our bed and the enormous soaking tub. We overnighted there on a thursday and friday and were able to enjoy the scrumptious hors' deuvres served at 6pm. You will not be disappointed with the charm and beauty of this very vintage home, once owned by Mr. Watkins back in the 1800's.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Apparently I stayed in a different B&B than the people below my review. Anyway, my wife and I wanted a weekend away and decided on this property since we normally stay in B&B's and this was ranked so high. The house itself is very nice and in a quite historic neighborhood, which sits directly beside UT Chattanooga. The room that we had was called the Rising Fawn and was extremely nice, the bed was big and comfortable, the tub was huge, and well decorated. We had two huge windows, with an oak tree outside filled with squirrels that made our coffee and wine drinking enjoyable. The staff was very nice and helped us whenever we needed it, even turning the heat down and calling to make sure that all was ok. The breakfast itself was very nice, 3 course, had great service, and the coffee was good as well. Parking wise we were very happy, we had no issue since they have a large parking lot, which is odd for any B&B. An added plus is that the house sits on a mile or so from every hot spot and attraction. Overall, we will definitely come back and could not have been more happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timfullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.9 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor's Mansion Inn

Property: Mayor's Mansion Inn
Address: 801 Vine Street, Chattanooga, TN 37403
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mayor`s Mansion Hotel Chattanooga
Mayors Mansion Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing