We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We must have been in a different inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayor's Mansion Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Chattanooga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moss Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We must have been in a different inn”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

When I read all of the previous reviews, I think I must be losing my mind. Yes, from the exterior, it is a stately old building. But the interior modifications are amateur at best. Our room had filthy, stained carpet, peeling/chipped paint and a bed so squeaky that we woke up any time one of us moved. There was no heat control in the room, so the very nice teenager working the front desk turned it up from a locked box out in the hallway - and then was off for the night. We had to crack the window to cool the room down. The photos on their websites are horribly misleading - the rooms are tired, not well maintained (actually, they were never well renovated in the first place - layers and layers of old paint with a new color slapped on top) and certainly aren't as big as the pictures would have you believe. I am SHOCKED by the ratings - this property is sadly not up to the standards of any of the travel sites that have endorsed it. If it hadn't been 10:00 at night and raining, we would have just left and gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't choose Ocoee River Room
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Seal_Cove_Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MC Ladd H, Owner at Mayor's Mansion Inn, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
On the rare occasion that we receive this type of comment, we accept it with gratitude and concern as we wish for ALL of our Guests to have a great experience at the Inn. Clearly we missed the mark with this couple. These Guests saw nothing of the property(except the office and their room) because they turned down the welcoming tour. The grandeur, traditional décor and patina of a historic 125 year old property that has been renovated and won the National Trust Award for historic preservation, was lost on them.

Also, there is misleading information here as our innkeeper is not a teenager, and we have staff on property 24/7 to attend to guests after normal operating hours. These Guests did not contact the resident innkeepers that evening. Finally, a strict cleaning regimen is followed for each room and then the room is thoroughly checked by an innkeeper and/or manager before any Guest arrival and this room was no exception that day.

We do apologize that their brief time here was less than perfect. Had the Guests shared their concerns directly with us while they were on the property much could have been done to have changed their experience. Though we do not consider this representative of a stay here at the Inn, we thank them for sharing their comments which we accept as sincere and we take as constructive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    47
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
161
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Beautiful gracious old Victorian southern home on the edge of downtown and right next to the University campus. Dining and sitting rooms on first floor are charming and very comfortable; the breakfasts were excellent. Rooms are all different. We stayed in the Chickamauga on the 2d floor, which was quite spacious, well furnished with period antiques and reproductions, and had large windows looking out in 3 directions. Cindy and her staff were very friendly and helpful; Andrew stayed up for our late arrival and brought up a cold Pinot Grigio. The wide porch is a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee or glass of wine. It's like visiting your great aunt in an old southern town; it's not a Hyatt, there's no bar scene, no pool, no gym, just a restful, quiet reminder of a more tranquil time. We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: The website does a good job of showing the variation in rooms. The Chicamauga suite was very spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoustonTexatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Chickamauga Suite. Lovely room, huge with large windows. Lovely breakfast. Due to its size and company style management this feels more like a hotel than a B&B. If you come from the interstate and make your way to the Inn the surroundings look a bit worrisome, but it gets better when you arrive there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, PA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great B&B. Wonderful hosts. Good location. Breakfast is served at individual cloth-covered tables at a time each guest prefers. Food was outstanding and elegantly presented. Room was well appointed. A power strip was provided so we could charge our gadgets. Would definitely stay again. Very clean.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Knowing that this is a Victorian B&B, I knew that there would be some drawbacks. The biggest drawback was the poor lighting in the room...the lights they had were inadequate and one certainly couldn't read in bed with the lights if you wanted to do so. The staff was friendly, the food was good. The one thing that the B&B has going for it is the location. Unfortunately, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mayor's Mansion in Chattanooga for three days in October, and had the best time. Our accomodations were perfect with a bright spacious room with huge bath, a comfortable bed, and delicious breakfasts served in a warm and charming dining room each morning. The hosts and owners Cindi and Mark went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. We would highly recommend this Inn when staying in Chattanooga.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are spacious and most convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just returned from a stay at Mayor's Mansion Inn, and can't say enough good things about it.

First, the property itself is over the top in a way that only a Victorian house can be. Everything is on a very grand scale, and the owners have managed to furnish the property in ways that really make you feel you are staying in someone's home (your very wealthy fantasy friend, perhaps).

I can't say enough about the staff here. We literally had someone come outside to meet us when we arrived, to welcome us in a very friendly way. We were shown around the public areas and told about the house, but what struck me most was the repeated attention paid to our comfort as their guests. Katie pointed out the library, and made a point of saying, "grab a book, put up your feet, and enjoy.....oh, and if you need coffee or a drink, just tell us." John made a point of asking more than once, "What can I do to make your stay special?" As we were leaving for dinner, we poked our heads into the back garden, where we encountered the owner on her way out. She made a point of saying, "Now make sure if you need something, you let us know; that's what we're here for."

Our guestroom was ridiculously huge, and (again) belonged the fantasy wealthy friend. The King sized bed doesn't begin to fill this space. The bathroom is probably more square footage than my kitchen at home, and was abundantly stocked with lots of towels and toiletries.

The evening turndown service was an added nice touch, since it's not really the norm in most B & B's where we've stayed. Perhaps the best part was the complete nature of that service. Pillow shams were discreetly hidden, the bathroom was freshened, etc., etc.

The hors d'oeuvres Saturday evening were simple, but of excellent quality. The breakfast preparation and service were also outstanding. And then there are the awesome robes, the free wi-fi, the incredible wraparound porch with the little fountain..........

When I made the reservation, my initial thought was, "This is expensive for a b & b in Chattanooga." After our stay, I would say that it was worth every dime.

Room Tip: We were in the Rising Fawn Suite, which was just wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,310 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 97 in Chattanooga
2,701 reviews
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayor's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayor's Mansion Inn

Property: Mayor's Mansion Inn
Address: 801 Vine Street, Chattanooga, TN 37403
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mayor`s Mansion Hotel Chattanooga
Mayors Mansion Inn Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing