We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Plate

The Blue Plate
Ranked #25 of 822 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
294 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Visited this restaurant in late Oct. with family, a total of seven people. Service was fine, attentive and courteous but food and atmosphere left a lot to be desired. The turkey club consisted of thick slices of turkey that tasted old, one slice of bacon, a slice of green tomato, mayo, and a little lettuce. The "famous" chips were way too hard and did not appear to have any salt on them - maybe healthy but tasteless. Prices, while not outrageous, were no bargain for what you got. Decor is ultra modern, very cold feeling. Music was too loud. Restaurant was busy so loud music with lots of conversations going on with no sound absorbing panels made for a VERY loud lunch. Location was not bad - overlooking the TN river.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    218
    105
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We Found Vegetables!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

This restaurant was awesome...delicious food (finally found southern cooked vegetables!), cute atmosphere, great location! We enjoyed dinner here after a free shuttle bus ride around downtown Chattanooga. Go hungry for sure! The service was very good. It turned out to be budget friendly for dinner. My kids loved the large, round booth and contemporary furnishings. You've gotta try the turnip greens...they are some of the best!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
170 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We went here for breakfast. The ambience was beautiful. I loved the oval seating area of the tables. The restaurant was packed, but we had pretty fast service once the waitress finally took our order. I got the pancake plate which consisted of a HUGE pancake with (1) egg and choice of bacon or sausage. The pancake tasted like a muffin top and the texture threw me off because this wasn't my idea of a pancake. My girlfriend only ate less than half of hers, but I other friend really liked his pancake and cleaned the plate. Overall, the experience was nice and the food was decent. I wish I had tried the chorizo burritto because it looked delicious and it was huge.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge servings, come hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Pleasantly surprised. We couldn't pull up their menu on their website, so we weren't sure what to expect. But the atmosphere was excellent. Contemporary diner, intimate booths, very clean. There weren't alot of menu options, but the portions were huge and prices were good. We got vegetable plate, salad w/salmon and breakfast burrito.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennanddash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“really slow service and not very good food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We waited 45 minutes for a burger and a sandwich. Neither were worth the wait. There are better choices in Chattanooga.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wishiwasrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Plate also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to The Blue Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing