We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save room for Dessert !!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rembrandt's Coffee House

Rembrandt's Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 20 Coffee & Tea in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ooltewah, TN
Level Contributor
130 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Save room for Dessert !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Need I say more. Have been to Rembrandt's several times. Have not eaten a meal here. Dessert and beverage have been the reason. There is a multitude of dessert options...at least a multitude. Tried some things that I enjoyed more than others. Purely a personal preferance. Today had the Italian Cream Cake. Oh my. It was wonderful.

Ordering still remains a little confusing as it is very small and hard to tell who is in line and who is just browsing. Certainly well worth the walk up the hill from the Aquarium. There are free parking options a stones throw away.

I have found the prices to be quite reasonable. Sitting outside in the courtyard is very relaxing. A perfect setting for a piece of cake, tart, eclair or chocolates. Yes they make a variety of chocolate treats also.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robert37363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    99
    32
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
254 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 626 helpful votes
“Coffee House Supreme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is my kind of place and so we have visited this coffee house a great many times for years. This is coffee heaven. You can get it steaming hot or freezing cold and with dozens of flavored Italian syrups added to it either way. Tea can be ordered hot or cold and if you want your iced tea flavored with mango, apple, or cherry syrup (or over a dozen other flavors) just ask. You can also get traditional European coffee beverages or else go Asian and try the Chai Tea Latte or some of the divine Green Tea smoothies. The Green Tea smoothies come in Strawberry Bomb, Wildberry Blast, Mango Mania, Extreme Peach, and Caribbean Colada. I have had them all so I can vouch for the cold thrills you will have if you choose any of these healthy drinks.

You can have any of a couple of dozen Italian syrup flavors (including some sugar free) added to your hot or cold beverage. I like adding apple, cherry, or candied orange to iced tea and also to the Italian cream sodas and Italian soda which are also available among the smoothies, coffees, and teas. You might prefer Pineapple, macadamia nut, hazelnut, white chocolate, irish cream or raspberry added to your drinks.

The iced Frappes are delicious too. They come in flavors like German Chocolate, Heath bar, Turtle Candy, White chocolate, Dreamsicle, and chocolate java. Delicious iced coffee!

There is something for every taste in beverages but that is not all Rembrandt's serves. Far from it. You can get amazing french toast. The French toast panini is filled with fruit compote and mascarpone cheese, topped with granola and served with maple syrup! The banana bread and pumpkin breads are freshly baked and delicious.

Lunches and snacks include hearty salads that make a meal, a variety of sandwiches, paninis, and wrap plus soups. I like the Make Your Own Sandwich offer where you choose the bread and filling and which garnishments you want. My favorite is to make a veggie sandwich on fresh baked sweet basil bread to eat with a salad and a drink. The danish are very good as are the chocolate cupcakes with your choice of orange or raspberry cream cheese icing (just give me all of that orange cream cheese frosting and I'll be happy!).

It's not just the food and beverages that are great. This coffee shop is located high above the Bluff Arts District downtown and you have lovely views of both the mountains and the Tennessee river and even the sculpture garden near by. If you visit Chattanooga, you'll want to stop by here at least once.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terril435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coffee and B-fast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We came her for breakfast from the Bluff View Inn ... great breakfast food (French toast & Egg sandwich), great coffee, friendly servers … and while not normally a dessert time – chocolates (quality, quantity and variety).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Park the diet!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very unique spot in the Bluff Arts District. Great courtyard, over looking downtown, but the deserts, simply spectacular. Good for lunch, and breakfast, but end the evening here with a special coffee and desert, lingering to soak up the night views. Some serious pastry chef indulgence going on in this little place, and it is just to good to pass up. If you are Chattanooga, you are very lucky as this spot is world class in it's food, service and ambience. So forget the diet, and go enjoy this place. We just did back to back nights, and wish we were staying over again so we could do the trifecta!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy option when staying at Bluff View Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had breakfast here as one of our options while staying at the McClellan house of the Bluff View Inn. French toast was terrific, hot chocolate was pretty good, great variety of coffee and an eye glazing case of sumptuous treats for a sweet stop after dinner or during the day. nice outside eating area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skrep M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rembrandt's Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Rembrandt's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing