We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, fast diner”
Review of City Cafe Diner

City Cafe Diner
Ranked #14 of 828 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $27
Cuisines: International, American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 24/7 Anything anytime! City Cafe Diner in Chattanooga, Tennessee and Cleveland, Tennessee offers breakfast, lunch and dinner with a choice of 400 different menu items any time of day or night. We feature traditional American fare plus five different varieties of ethnic food, including Chinese, Mexican, Italian, Greek and Mediterranean cuisine. Choose from over 90 home made cakes, cheesecakes, and pies. Our downtown diner provides a full bar and live music. Our other locations provide beer and wine.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun, fast diner”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Dropped in at midnight on a Sunday after many, many hours on the road on the way to FLA. Place was hopping with all types of folks and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. Our party had both breakfast items and dinner fare, and all of it was good. Home fries (hash browns with onions, peppers and tomatoes) were great. Menu is huge so even the pickiest eater should be able to find something. Service was very fast and friendly, despite the crowd. Way better than chain diners (of which there are apparently none in Chattanooga) and certainly a far better alternative to Waffle House (of which there seem to be plenty) for late night or any time of the day..

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    338
    118
    36
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day with a HUGE breakfast”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We liked our first visit so much we went back for a second visit and everything was good. The service was fast, food was hot and tasty. If you are on a diet this might not be the place for you. They have T.V's constantly showing their hugmonous cakes and you have to walk in and pay at the display case. It takes will power to not try a HUGE slice of cake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FloridagirlP-cola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arab, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Holy sheet cake!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We came in this restaurant by the recommendation of a friend and we were NOT disappointed. It was our intention to have brunch, but I'll be honest.... I picked at my breakfast so that I could justify eating CAKE! So many cakes.... pies, cannolis... I mean.... I felt like a fat kid in candyland. No one told me this restaurant was 24hours and has 75 kinds of CAKE or I would've been there at 3 AM the night before! LOL. Oh the breakfast was good too... but let's be honest. I won't be back for breakfast... I'll be back for CAKE!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“TYPICAL DINER LIKE YOU WOULD FIND IN NEW YORK”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

The décor and menu are reminiscent of the large (usually Greek owned) diners you find in New York City or surrounding areas. The menu is varied enough that everyone in your party should find something to eat, the portions are ridiculously large (no one in our party of 4 was able to finish the meal) and the food was well prepared and tasty. Not everyone is a fan of diner cuisine, but if you do like diners, you should check this one out in Chattanooga.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronnoc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick and efficient service”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

I enjoyed the large menu and quick service....very crowded for late night...but the atmosphere was fun and relaxed. delicious diner food..friendly waitstaff

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Cafe Diner also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to City Cafe Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing