We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly Good”

Chattanooga National Cemetery
Ranked #13 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stopped here to get two virtual Geocaches and ended up staying awhile.
The layout of the cemetery is, I don't know, soothing? The Civil War train chase monument is great and from there I wondered around reading about and soaking in the richness of the history.
There are a lot of unique monuments but even the simple markers convey so much.
The rolling hills on the grounds offer good views of the surrounding area and it is easy to see why they picked this area for this cemetery in the 1800's. It is a quick exit off of the interstate and not too hard to get to, but well worth it if you like history at all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    49
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Moving”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Visited some family graves from a few generations of veterans. This was my first time in one of the country's national cemeteries. It was a very peaceful and moving experience. Being veterans day weekend also on the visit made the place even more memorable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErnieandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler, tx
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very humbling experience”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

After a great meal at Aretha Frankenstein's, my husband, son and I drove about 5 minutes to the National Cemetery. It is absolutely breathtaking and humbling. The rows and rows of veterans encompassing many battles for the past 150 years is beautiful and a peaceful resting place for the heroes. It should be on everyone's list who comes to Chattanooga.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parkroad33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Place In History”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

U.S. History classes do not give you the information or experience of being at the actual site of one of the Civil War's major battles.
You learn and experience much!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TKCRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Cemetery”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We wanted to see the Andrews Raiders monument, but weren't prepared for such a beautiful cemetery. The grounds are immaculate and the hill with the American flag is a gorgeous site, especially in the strong sunlight. I didn't do my research, otherwise I would have photographed the masonry archway (1 of only 5 in the US). The Andrews Raiders monument isn't far from the road, but you will have to exit your car to really see it. When I find myself in Chattanooga again, I will revisit this cemetery. Read about it before you visit. Give yourself an hour or so to drive/walk around. It is a sight.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReddNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattanooga National Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing