We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for 10 and under”
Review of Chattanooga Zoo

Chattanooga Zoo
Ranked #14 of 149 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Imagine a zoo that's specially designed to bring the animals up close to you. Imagine a zoo where you have time to notice the subtleties of animal behavior, instead of being pushed along by an impatient crowd. Imagine an exciting and diverse zoo that's still easy to navigate with strollers...or little legs. That's the new Chattanooga Zoo!
Boonville, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for 10 and under”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My daughter and I visited the zoo on a rainy afternoon. The animals were active and viewing spaces were very accommodating. We were able to see leopards and a red panda up as close as plexi glass would allow! My daughter who is 6 really enjoyed it. Larger zoos such as StL, do not offer the up close opportunities and tend to wear little ones out with all the walking. It was roughly a 2 hour outting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMom8066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    238
    95
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ooltewah, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a fun time”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

we took 3 children to the zoo. everyone of them loved it. the zoo is small but has a lot to offer. the zoo is well shaded in the summer months.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hobbes295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordonsville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We did not see very much advertisement for this zoo...So we had no idea what it would be like...When we arrived the parking lot was empty, but schools were not our yet for summer either so I am certain that is why there were not many guest. It is a very well kept, smaller zoo..If you like animals & have kids it is worth going & the price was not expensive either. We like it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank queenkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I always love to look for smaller zoos. They often have more up close and personal opportunities and viewing areas. This zoo did not disappoint! They have new wild encounters available this year and we did the red panda encounter. We got to go into the exhibit and feed the sweet 14 year old Wendy. Absolutely loved her. We are already planning a repeat trip to do the sloth encounter. They also had a nice petting zoo area and beautiful peacocks running free. The landscape was well kept up. Really enjoyed this zoo.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little zoo!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

The zoo has really grown in the last few years. The animal enclosures are nice and clean. The new desert enclosure is awesome. Sometimes it is hard to see the cougars inside their enclosure. My daughters favorite thing to do is feed the goats! The carousel ride costs only $1.00, so it's great for children to ride. They have added a small train ride around the zoo as well. This is a small zoo, but growing more and more each year.

Helpful?
Thank Shell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattanooga Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing