We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up close and personal...”
Review of Chattanooga Zoo

Chattanooga Zoo
Ranked #15 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a zoo that's specially designed to bring the animals up close to you. Imagine a zoo where you have time to notice the subtleties of animal behavior, instead of being pushed along by an impatient crowd. Imagine an exciting and diverse zoo that's still easy to navigate with strollers...or little legs. That's the new Chattanooga Zoo!
Manchester, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Up close and personal...”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My daughters and I were surprised to see how up close and personal the animals were at the Chattanooga Zoo. One of the male Jaguars actually came up to the glass placing his paws over my daughters making it appear as though they were playing pat-a-cake. All the animals were just as curious about us as we were with them and they came to the glass to look at us. We were very pleased spending our money here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    236
    94
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had low expectations of this place after having read some of the reviews. First, the grounds are nice and well kept, and they did not charge for parking! There were plenty of nice exhibits. My daughter enjoyed riding the camel for $5 they also have a train and a merry-go-round for kids to ride. The monkeys, chimpanzees and peacocks were a favorite. There were not any "large" animals like giraffes or elephants. There were lots of other interesting animals like, leopards, exotic birds and reptiles. There were lots of places to stop and rest you feed and plenty of indoor air-conditioned exhibits where you could cool off. This was a very inexpensive "time-filler" for us and our kid really enjoyed it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyFamily971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Size was just right, so was the price”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We were heading home from vacation and wanted a short activity to fill an hour or so. Most if the reviews mentioned that this was a small zoo and didn't take long. They were right. It took us just over an hour from start to finish including the $1 carousel ride. I saw no evidence of animal mistreatment as some reviewers stated. Some of the animals were in small enclosures. However, we talked with zoo personnel and found out that it is for display purposes only in most cases and that they are returned to their habitats at the end of the day. There was evidence if this if you looked around carefully. There were transport cages hidden in the area. The zoo appears well kept and plans to expand are evident. The price was great, too! I especially like the fact hat they have North American wildlife also. Many people have no idea what a deer or turkey look like in real life. The zoo also does a good job of letting you know that many of their animals are there for rehabilitation, but could not be returned to the wild. This is a great short stop.

Helpful?
Thank dleathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the zoo!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The price of admission is very low when compared to other sites and other zoos we've visited. They had some great exhibits and it appears they really take care of the areas around the zoo. Charging someone $5 to ride a camel is reasonable, though the camels smell really bad and it takes all of 45 seconds for the camel to make one loop around the track. Great moneymaker for the zoo, but we wouldn't do that again. It was our first time to this zoo, and the one thing we missed is that we got there about a half hour after the time when zoo officials would have been able to answer questions and have live demonstrations. So many of the exhibits we entered first were like the tour in Jurassic Park when one actor says "there are actually dinosaurs in this dinosaur exhibit, right?" We kept looking for the animals and they were nowhere to be found!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small but wonderful!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This zoo is much smaller than we are accustomed to from the Memphis Zoo, but what it lakes in sizes it makes up for in personality! The animals seemed just as intrigued by us as we were them! :D It takes about an hour to walk through and was well worth it!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank tnbelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattanooga Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing