We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chattanooga Zoo

Chattanooga Zoo
Ranked #16 of 147 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Imagine a zoo that's specially designed to bring the animals up close to you. Imagine a zoo where you have time to notice the subtleties of animal behavior, instead of being pushed along by an impatient crowd. Imagine an exciting and diverse zoo that's still easy to navigate with strollers...or little legs. That's the new Chattanooga Zoo!
cheddar1509
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the zoo. It was clean, staff all attentive and nice. The zoo is small (we are from Atlanta) but still fun. It was reasonable pricing. They have done a grat job with the animals and space that they have. It is worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cheddar1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    222
    86
    25
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small zoo, but still fun!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I think Chattanooga has done a great job with what they have. This is a small zoo, but still so fun to visit. Good assortment of animals to see and lots to learn!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank danart920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton GA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great little zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The zoo has come a long way in the past 10 -15 years! Lots of neat things to do and see. Our kids love it and there are lots of great photo opportunities.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank acpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Little Zoo Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are wanting to spend a nice hour or so walking and enjoying a wide variety of animals the Chattanooga Zoo is an excellent choice. We have 2 daughters under 10 years of age and they enjoy it everytime we go. We have been member at the zoo for the past 6 years and membership fees are very reasonable as are day ticket prices! They've recently added a carousel and new bathrooms and snack stand which is a nice retreat to refuel for more fun or enjoy before you leave. From Snow Leopards to the famous Chimps, Cheetahs to Red Pandas there is sure to be some animals to make you smile and plenty to make the kiddos do the same! You can walk it in 30 minutes or stroll it for a couple of hours. The ZooKeepers all seem very knowledgeable of their animals and will answer any questions from you pleasantly. The Only reason I don't give it a 5 Rating is it is a bit too small to travel much distance just to visit the Zoo, However, Chattanooga has PLENTY to offer so it is an awesome addition to include in your family's getaway or even while passing through as many do on their way to Gatlinburg!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice carousel onsite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went here while on a short overnight trip to Chattanooga. Upon arrival we decided that it was just too cold to be outside at the zoo. However, our kids were delighted to find that we could access the indoor carousel without paying admission to the zoo. We paid $3 for an unlimited use band for each. They had a blast riding one animal, then another and another. We were there for about 30 minutes as they rode. It was money well spent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank VacaPrincess-00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chattanooga Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Chattanooga Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing