We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food & excellent staff”

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 828 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shallowford and Hamilton Place Blvd.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food & excellent staff”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

J Alexanders is my family's favorite restaurant. We frequent them often. The atmosphere is very appealing. We have gone there after our children have played football, and we have gone there for romantic dinners. Food is excellent, and the staff is always professional. The price has increased over the past year; we have had to budget our trips there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    93
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good steak; nice wine list”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We both chose steak, and they were cooked perfectly and tender. Dani, who showed us to our seat but was not our primary waitress, was extremely knowledgable about the wines and helped us make a good choice. The tuna salad was excellent; tender, seared Ahi tuna. The carrot cake for dessert was excellent, but too generous a portion, even shared between two. Overall, a nice traditional American steak and seafood restaurant.

I agree with another reviewer that it is noisy, but that seems to be a growing trend -- large spaces with little noise dampening. Nonetheless, we were able to carry on a conversation and the rest was background noise.

Helpful?
Thank Ladira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good selection”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very comfortable establishment with good selection of food. This is a $$$ restaurant. ($18-25 entrees)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaronGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
236 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Love J Alexanders”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We always eat here when in the area and have never been disappointed. Excellent service, excellent food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank knoxtntraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious Prime Rib!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We met a couple of my husband's friends for lunch at J Alexander's for their Prime Rib and the food was out of this world! The only place that we have been able to find that can cook a Prime Rib correctly is Lawry's in Dallas...... To find a Prime Rib cooked to perfection at lunch was awesome :) We left very satisfied! The waitstaff was attentive, the atmosphere was lovely and we could not have been happier! Thumbs up all the way :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetiredCoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing