We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Cajun”
Review of 1885 Grill

1885 Grill
Ranked #18 of 964 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 1885 Grill is a southern coastal restaurant specializing in fresh seafood, quality steaks and southern sides. We are located in the beautiful St. Elmo neighborhood at the base of the Incline Railway and scenic Lookout Mountain, just minutes from downtown Chattanooga. Enjoy the mountain views from the patio or watch as chefs turn fresh, local ingredients into delicious creations. Join us for live music Tuesday through Thursday, as well as Sunday and enjoy our daily specials.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great experience here. My family and I went in at about 7:30 and did not have to wait. Our waiter was really nice and knew the menu very well. We ordered a filet, crab cake, mushroom grits, and the salmon. All were tasty! I recommend calling ahead for groups of 4 or less.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank countryfoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel M, Owner at 1885 Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was an excellent choice for dinner. If you have four or less you can call ahead. We were seated right when we got there. Most everyone was eating on the patio but we decided to eat inside and there were few people in there. The waiter was nice and very attentive. All the food was great. We got the gumbo, fried green tomatoes, filet migon, salmon, crab cake, grilled veggies, baked potatoes, salad,and mushroom and grits skeeter style. All was very good!!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank katielynn1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel M, Owner at 1885 Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Came here for dinner with clients. We chose to dine on the patio under the shade trees. Very comfortable even on a 90-degree day.

Initially service was slow, but once she started, Kaycee was excellent. Warm and sociable, but very efficient.

We had a salmon dip appetizer. Very nice.
I went for the salmon redundancy and had grilled salmon on a rice and crab gumbo base. In addition there were sauteed green beans and fried okra. It was outstanding.

The others with me were equally pleased with their entrees.
Next tinme I am in Chattanooga, I will try it again.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JRGidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel M, Owner at 1885 Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for choosing to dine with us on your trip to town! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience, especially the salmon dip and the grilled salmon! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chattanooga!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

Outstanding Restaurant with excellent reasonable food choices... The food was great with many healthy choices... the grilled trout & steak were both delicious & well prepared. Our waitress Sam was very pleasant & attentive. Ample seating both inside & on patio.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank BuddyDumeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel M, Owner at 1885 Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful 5-star review! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, especially the grilled trout and steak. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2019 via mobile

The 1885 is a great choice if your looking for inventive Southern Cuisine served in a fun (and a bit noisy) environment. The large patio seating is fun and very spacious. The appetizer line up feature’s Fried Green Tomatoes. The trout entree was terrific as were the Shrimp & Grits. Service was excellent. Parking is a bit tricky during peak hours.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank MacAtlantaGa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel M, Owner at 1885 Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit with us! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us and please join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1885 Grill also viewed

 

Been to 1885 Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing