We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of 1885 Grill

1885 Grill
Ranked #11 of 833 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I visited 1885 with two other people. All of our meals were well prepared, and the service was excellent. I had the grilled trout, which had a good, fresh taste. The other two meals were the steak frites and the flounder. I tried a couple of bites of those meals, and can say they were both well prepared. Dessert options seemed a bit limited (three choices). One of the people in my party ordered chocolate cake, and said it was average. I still give the place five stars with those great entrees.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 191GregS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    119
    31
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had lunch on Friday - very good food. My husband had the Cuban, I had the grilled chicken, and my daughter had the macaroni and cheese along with a hot dog. While everything was very good, the macaroni and cheese was outstanding. The outdoor dining was really nice - always a bonus. Would definitely go back when in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyliesaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mouth watering-literally!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We rode the incline from the too of the mountain and ended up in St. Elmo in time for supper. We decided to try this place and were so glad we did!!! I ordered the spinach salad and the fried green tomatoes for my meal. The tomatoes had this pimento cheese on top that was FABULOUS! My husband ordered the trout and it was delicious too! Great choice, great food!

Helpful?
Thank Ssaholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best burger ever !”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stopped here before our trip up the Incline....it's right at the base so very convenient. They have a nice outdoor eating area but it was raining do we were forced to eat inside. Very efficient service and management stopped by several times to check on us. I had a delicious burger and partner had a tasty Cuban sandwich. Prices were very reasonable. Since it was Saturday, they were serving brunch till 2:00. A nice surprise but we opted for regular lunch fare. I highly recommend this place if you are in the area for any of the local attractions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJNana747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a great brunch and plan on going again soon. A good tip would be to go early, we noticed that it was very busy and a longer wait when we were leaving.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tyler F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1885 Grill also viewed

 

Been to 1885 Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing