We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flying Squirrel

Flying Squirrel
Ranked #41 of 827 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are 21+ except for Sunday brunch.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We enjoy fun nights out with friends or just as a couple at the Flying Squirrel. The location is great and the staff has been wonderful. They make drinks based on your preference (for example they made me a pumpkin bourbon drink - which they determined just from conversation). The drinks are great and the food is just right for a night out. We tried the fries and the chicken.

If you don't feel like sitting in the bar area and it is too chilly for sitting outside, then head upstairs. They have sofas set up which make for a more intimate conversation setting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    62
    15
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Duck tacos are the best”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We just happened to go to this place to get a drink because we were staying next door but it turned out to be a great place to sample some TN beer and a late night snack. And the next night we had an ice cream emergency and guess what? They serve Clumpie's ice cream.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonderwall356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great draft beer selection”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The Flying Squirrel is great! So many people love that place. By 10 it's packed. Their draft beer selection is absolutely amazing I could have just tasted beer all night and not even talked to anyone...but that would have been hard to do since the bartenders are so cute.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebekahlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Ginger-lover's dream”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Listen: If you like ginger, and you like cocktails, do yourself a favour and hit up the Flying Squirrel for The Opportunist. Phenomenal. I didn't get a chance to try their food but heard great things from fellow travellers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ribbongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bar/Restaurant”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I visited for the first time on March, 25th, 2014. There is not host seating patrons, but it was nice to just look around and seat ourselves. The architecture is beautiful, windows galore, and very bright, open feeling.

Our server greeted us promptly and took our drink orders. Tuesday night is half price wine night so we ordered a surprising affordable Napa Cabernet. The Squirrel is more bar than restaurant but the food they do offer transcends normal bar food fare. We had Duck Tacos, Cuban (pork belly) Tacos, and Lamb Lollis (mini chops). The Cuban was our favorite, it was moist and very flavorful. The Lamb was unevenly cooked, but still delicious.

To add to the very agreeable atmosphere, live music started soon after we arrived. A single acoustic guitar and electric violin really added to our night..not too loud, but loud enough to enjoy.
If you are in Chattanooga, put the Flying Squirrel on your list of must dos.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Squirrel also viewed

 

Been to Flying Squirrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing