We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best darn BBQ in Chattanooga”

Hickory Pit Bar-B-Que
Ranked #22 of 827 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small family owned business with only 5 tables inside and 2 out side. We try to make you fill like you are with friends.
1 review
“Best darn BBQ in Chattanooga”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

The food was very delicious, it reminded me of my grandfathers BBQ. Everything I had was good and fresh tasting. And the service was nice and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msmakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    81
    23
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food and Staff!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after being on the road for 12 hours going from Michigan to Florida. Less than 1.5 miles from I-75, which was great!

This was a wonderful BBQ restaurant! The prices were great and the food was hot, delicious and served in an adequate amount of time.

Our parties food consisted of:

Beef BBQ sandwich-amazing! The beef was moist, lean (not fatty), the BBQ sauce wasn't too sweet. It was the perfect blend of sweetness and vinegar. I added cole slaw was delicious! Crispy, creamy (not too creamy though), and fresh. The fries were traditional fries. Nothing fancy, but very good.

My SIL had the same as I, but with BBQ pulled pork.

Two killer loaded potatoes which were large and delicious, too.

Baked beans, yup...delicious!

The kids had a burger (very tasty charbroiled flavor), chicken tenders, corn dog and tater tots. All were good!

The sweet tea was very sweet, but that's coming from somebody that usually drinks unsweetened. I wanted some southern sweet tea though. I opted for 1/2 and 1/2.

The staff was very attentive and friendly. Never felt rushed by staff. We had a party of 8 and sat snugly, yet comfortably, around a family oval shaped table. I loved the family friendly feeling of this very small restaurant. It was exactly want we needed on our long drive.

The owner was very friendly and nice. He even gave us some driving tips for Atlanta rush hour traffic.

We will most certainly stop here again!!

Helpful?
Thank Renee91123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
162 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Baby Back ribs for a good price.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Trip advisor guided me to another hidden gem. 5 tables inside and two outside. Small old building and a small parking lot. Inside has historic décor varying from newspaper clippings to the owner's (Mike) tools he used when he worked the tobacco fields as a child. Onto the food. The baby back ribs are fantastic. They do not come with any side so that will up your price a bit. The ribs have a slight pull off the bone and a great smoked smell and taste. The fried okra is good. They give you a nice sweet sauce on the side for the ribs or you can ask for their homemade hot sauce that has a smack. Not inexpensive but a good price for ribs and sides. I will return when I'm back in the Chatt.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nyormirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike F, Owner at Hickory Pit Bar-B-Que, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Enjoyed talking with all of you. Talking about a tobacco basket and then find out why you were in town. Unreal!! Glad you enjoyed your food and I sure have enjoyed the cigars. Thanks for eating with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Frankfort
1 review
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Awesome food, great service. Small hidden gem! Couldn't ask for anything more. Family type restaurant. My boys loved it, which is a task all by itself.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Medicnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Tennessee bar-b-que”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

if you're ever on Ringgold Rd, look for the Hickory Pit Bar-b-que, a little hard to find but worth the effort. Friendly folks and great bar-b-que. Not in the mood for bar-b-que, try the smoked chicken salad sandwich. Sweet tea just like Grandma use to make. Too good to miss. Enjoy.
We stop every time we travel from Marietta, GA to Lynchburg TE, going and coming.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Pit Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Pit Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing