We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAN I RATE A NEGATIVE????”

Hickory Pit Bar-B-Que
Ranked #21 of 828 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small family owned business with only 5 tables inside and 2 out side. We try to make you fill like you are with friends.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“CAN I RATE A NEGATIVE????”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I just left here after waiting FOR OVER AN HOUR with no time in sight to when our food would come. We were seated immediately, but when we didn't know what we wanted after not even seeing our menu, our server just AND NEVER CAME BACK. He went to 3 different tables and got their orders before my husband went to the window to ask where we place our order. 40 minutes in, we were told it was taking so long because the burgers were thick so it takes a while. Passing the hour mark, I went up to pay for our drink where I received an attitude and was told that he was "about to get to our order". Awful! Awful! Awful! We left and went down the street, after having to pay for our one drink. WILL NEVER GO BACK! I guess you have to know someone to get any service

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Krich3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    82
    23
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A tiny place with great BBQ”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the size of the restaurant fool you - excellent BBQ, catfish, coleslaw. Baked beans were okay, ribs were delicious. Very friendly, attentive staff, server was concerned our youngest enjoyed his meal. The place has 5 tables, one outside. I'd go back!

Helpful?
Thank Vaughn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester
1 review
“Holy SMOKES!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food! Clean and friendly, Best BBQ I've ever had hands down. When you first walk in the smokey smell is there, and you can tell the food is well smoked. Small and cozy place

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Libbysimeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After reading the reviews I was DISAPPOINTED!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I’ll start of by saying, I like reading reviews but NEVER actually take the time to write them. Well in this case, I felt the need. I just recently moved to Chattanooga. I was super excited to try the barbeque, after reading all the rave reviews. I ordered my sandwich and fries to go and sent my husband it to get them. I have never been so disappointed. I literally choked on the sandwich because it was so dry. I cannot believe everybody is rating this place so highly. Not only was it horrible food but the service was beyond horrible. My husband waited about 30 minutes for 1 sandwich and 1 order of fries. I would never recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Saturday catfish”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

I love the catfish. I've been to the hickory pit several times, and the fish is Always great. The burgers are good, but the fish is great.

Helpful?
Thank eric c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Pit Bar-B-Que also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Pit Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing