We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryan's Family Steakhouse - CLOSED

Ryan's Family Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Port Hope, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Most of my visits to Ryan's have been good experiences, but the food, except for the fried chicken, didn't have outstanding flavors. I'll give it another shot on my next visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank erie906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    4
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Steak &sauce”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

First, ring old rd Ryans I'd closed. I went to hixson pk restaurant. Ryans advertises steak beginning After 4 pm Went to steak ctr , they stated " 4 o'clock) informed them they adv 3:30 not 4. Ryans had not even started by 330. They agreed to bring steak to my table which they did. Latest cheap. Trick of ryans is that they now have their sauces hidden indeterminate silverware ctr out of sight of customers. Little wonder Ryans filed for bankruptcy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Earl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ryan's Morning Buffet”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Ryan's morning buffet was fair to decent. The food was generally hot and available when needed. They offered a wide variety of choices and offered a omelet cook for customers. Ok, for one in a great while.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EMANCleveland_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A great buffet”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The only downside is every time I go there I eat too much. This buffet is much better than the competitor chain buffets that are out there. Its location is great if your in Hixson not so great if you are elsewhere. But if you are in need of a quick meal that taste good I recommend checking it out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not going back”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped at Ryan's for a quick dinner before church Wednesday night. We had not eaten there in quite a while. What a disappointment.

The service was slow or non existent. We had to get our own silverware before we could eat. The drinks were not served until half way through the meal. I waited at the roast beef/ ham station for several minutes and finally hit my plate on the counter before anyone came to serve me. The server who finally took care of me had been talking to another server about five feet away, in full view of this station. I wanted to try the stir fry that was promoted on large signs in the lobby. The first and second time I waited At that station no one appeared to help me. The third time there was an employee next to the stir fry area. He was next to the grilling steaks but not doing anything with them. he was too busy flirting with a young lady I assume was a restaurant guest. He ignored me even though I stood there for a while waiting for him to wrap up his conversation and offer to help me. I was standing behind and to the side of the young lady in plain sight. The employees at this Ryan's seemed more interested in their social life than in doing their job.

The quality of food was sadly lacking also. The roast beef was dry. I wanted a fried chicken leg or wing. There were only a few chicken backs in the fried chicken serving pan. I checked back twice but they did not refill the pan while I was there. The macaroni was watery and had no cheese flavor. The sauce was more like orange water than cheese sauce. The coconut pie was good but I kept tasting peanut the rest of the night.

All in all this was a very dis satisfactory meal. We did not speak with the manager as we needed to get to church on time. We will not be going back to this Ryan's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's Family Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing