We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Greece influence at Acropolis Grill in Tenneessee”
Review of Acropolis

Acropolis
Ranked #20 of 827 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: .
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming Greece influence at Acropolis Grill in Tenneessee”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband, family and friends have enjoyed this local Greek/American family restaurant for many years. We have enjoyed the wonderful variety of the homemade influence of the many dishes from the extensive menu. I usually eat there at least once a week and often twice! Love the choices , love the lunch chicken salad plate and my favorite place to have grilled salmon...their Strawberry Patch Cake would make your momma cry! So Moist!! A MUST Try!!!

The family takes great pride in their food and service and hospitality offered. They have always had the best attentive service and if something is an issue they see that it is taken care of.

There menu has changed recently and we are excited to try the updated menu and enjoy the charm of the location and additions not only of the menu but the inside and outside area' coming soon.' It is wonderful to be a part of what is happening in the neighborhood! Thanks to all the family, cooks and service staff for making it a TOP choice in our area...may you be blessed with loyal customers and new alike...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    120
    44
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Family Owned Dining Option”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

For a three day visit to Chattanooga we stayed at a hotel in the Hamilton Place area because of the many dining options. Prior to the trip, on-line we reviewed available nearby restaurants and were attracted to one named the Acropolis. Upon checking into the hotel we asked about the Acropolis and were told it was very good and was the only family-owned restaurant in an area teeming with the usual collection of national chains. So we tried it out and enjoyed the experience. The food was not gourmet but was very good; the server was friendly and attentive; the owner hovered around to make sure all was going well and the atmosphere was pleasant and comfortable. The large display case immediately inside the door exhibited a wide range of very tempting desserts. One should recognize that the menu shown on their website is more extensive than that actually offered at the restaurant. The bottom line - if we stay in the Hamilton Place area again, we would return to the Acropolis, not because it is the greatest restaurant in the world but because it was not a chain restaurant and provided a solid combination of food, service and atmosphere at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I did a search for Greek and Mediterranean food in Chattanooga, this place was near by, and I'm glad. They have a well rounded menu, and if all the food is as good as the mixed appetizer and avgalemono soup, look forward to returning.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go for dessert and forget the dinner!!!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Microwaveable mush made for those who love their food without flavor. This is a great place for those old tops who are waiting out their final years. Salt and pepper are nonexistent here as they are bad for the elderly. Cafeteria food anyone?

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still as good as the day it opened”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is one restaurant that has remained good throughout the years. They have a new menu in place for about three weeks now(so said the server). What we had was excellent. A couple of us had grilled amberjack that was oh so good. I think one person had a Greek platter and another gyros.

Of course we shared desserts. The kids had cookies, one couple had Butterfinger Cake and we had Baklava Cheesecake! All were exquisite. I normally have their famous Strawberry Patch Cake, but decided to try something different this time.

Our server, Scott, was outstanding. He was very attentive without being intrusive. I don't recall anyone having to ask for anything. He just magically appeared at the right time.

It had been a long time since we had been here(just not in the area very often), but we will make it a point to go back very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acropolis also viewed

 

Been to Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing