We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps an off night”

Mount Vernon Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 837 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Lookout Mountain Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perhaps an off night”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife, her father, and I ate here last Friday night and were suprised by the seemingly lower quality in the food (the service and server were wonderful). Mr Ball and I had the fish and chips and although the fish was passable, it did have a "stronger flavour" than it did in the past, it wasnt particularly bad, but it was nowhere near as good as it had been before. The chips were bad, undercooked or cooked and rewarmed. Donna had the fried chicken which she had greatly enjoyed before but it too, seemed off almost as if it had been rewarmed. The fried okra, usually a favourite, was very bland. I hope this was a off night for this resturant, as it has been a favourite in the Chattanooga area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorianMilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    96
    32
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home cooking and great deserts.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Treat you like family. Eat here often and on most occasions service and food are good. The pie is to die for. Sometimes we stop there just because my partner loves the pie specialty. When on the road, you try to select a different place each day and it depends on your disired "yuttle" factor.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Speedo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply the best find in Chatanooga”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

After looking at several restaurants in Chattanooga to celebrate my wife's fathers birthday I came upon a listing for Mt. Vernon Restaurant, we made the plans to go there which is about 1 1/2 hours from where we live. As we traveled closer to the restaurant location I became worried, how could anything good be in this part of town? We parked and went in and were greeted by some of the most friendly people I have ever encountered. They waited on us hand and foot. I thought to myself this is something you would find in the upscale areas of town not here. The food was absolutely the best, the prices were fair and if you go there you must try their almond amaretto pie. We have since returned and been very pleased every time. If you live nearby or are visiting Chattanooga this restaurant is a must.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1959sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner with My Wife”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Mount Vernon is close to my wife's work and she suggested that we meet there. They were crowded for a Friday night. They do not have a waiting area for a lot of people. The wait was not that long. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Atmosphere was nice and the restaurant was decorated nicely for the holidays. The food was very good. I had chicken and dressing with carrot raisin salad and fried green tomatoes. The chicken had good flavor and almost fell of the bone.
Their signature dessert is Amaretto Pie which is delicious , but we chose to try their fudge pie for something different. It was good if you want to get your chocolate fix.
Overall it was a very good meal at a very good restaurant at the foot of Lookout Mountain.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First appearances indicate a good a friendly place to eat.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a third generation family restuarant and it is not often that you are greeted by the present owner as we have on numerous occasions. What a change from the norm! We have stopped here when going thrrough Chattanooga numerours times and have never been treated but the very best and enjoyed an excellant meal. When you first drive by, you know this is a good place to have a good meal!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JFC585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Vernon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mount Vernon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing