We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to expectation !!”
Review of Chef Lin

Chef Lin
Ranked #367 of 836 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not up to expectation !!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Went there with a large group. They had a large variety of food in their buffet. The sushi bar was good, but other dishes were average. Some of us liked their coconut shrimp and chicken broccoli dishes. We felt that the restaurant was not very clean and service was not great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wael-AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    19
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stopped by this buffet when I was traveling to Atlanta. I needed something quick, but not fast food. It is a great place for a traveler. Sushi are fresh!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hooligunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Okay - Not Terrific”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tried Chef Lin for the first time July 30th for lunch. We had eight people in our party. Must say the ice tea was good!!! not too sweet. Everyone agreed would go somewhere else next time. Depended on what you were eating as to how good it rated. The sushi bar looked impressive but was only good for the eyes. Not inedible but as someone else stated just kind of bland - I can make better at home. Yes, we do make it at home. There was a large selection of items. There was a shrimp dish that rated pretty well with those that tried it and a stuffed shell of some sort was yummy. Most everything else was just okay. It was interesting that they had chicken feet and tripe on the buffet!!! Gave them a go - both pretty good but found them only after filling up on other items. Egg rolls didnt taste like they were very fresh and we arrived about one hour after they opened for the day. Didnt try the hibachi so cant say on it. Overall I would say this is a hit or miss - just depends on what you put on your plate but have had much better even in the buffet environment. We gave it a try since we liked the price - only wish it would have been better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrpllnka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“How are they #1”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Ate here because j and d was shut down. Over priced, dingy, not really impressed. Will just go to a steak house next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank homewood_traveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just OK.....”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This buffet was ok. It wasn't the best Chinese buffet I have been to but not the worse. There is a large selection of dishes, including fresh sushi. The sushi was really not that tasty, it was coated with way to much rice, with hardly anything in the center,not enough sauces on the bar, & when you ask they just give you a little squirt......okay......
The hibachi was just strange, it wasn't your typical one, were you chose your own fresh ingredients , they have a sign on the wall where you can only choose what is listed. A choice of chicken, shrimp, or steak, then the only veggies were onions, mushrooms,bean sprout, and zucchini! No other choices, no sauces, then they chose how much of the veggies and meat you get! Never saw this before at ANY hibachi!!!
Bottom line like I said it was just ok, wouldn't go back tho...........sorry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meka0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Lin also viewed

 
Chattanooga, TN
Chattanooga, TN
 

Been to Chef Lin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing