We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip for the entertainment”
Review of Station House Restaurant - CLOSED

Station House Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a trip for the entertainment”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our visit to the Station House was one of the most enjoyable dinner experiences we've had in a long time. Yes, the evening can get a little pricey due to the entertainment surcharge (as others have mentioned) -- but we felt that the quality of the entertainment was well worth the price. There were some amazing singers on the night we were there! And, while it wasn't the best meal I've ever had, the items our party ordered were definitely very good. The service was also better than we expected, given that the servers providing the entertainment must stop waiting tables to do so. On the occasion that our server took the stage, other servers came by to check on us, so that we were always taken care of in a timely fashion.

I would recommend arriving a little later in the evening, as we did. We were seated at about 8:15 on a Friday night, after a wait of 30 minutes or so. By the time we finished our meal, there were no more people waiting to be seated, so that we felt no pressure to give up our table. We just ordered another round of drinks and settled in to enjoy the show.

If the restaurant isn't full, I would also recommend asking to be seated in the area where we were -- it was close to perfect. We were in an elevated area in the rear corner of the restaurant, which gave us an excellent view of the stage while being far enough away that the music didn't seem too loud. We still had to yell at one another while the music was playing, so don't go there if you want good dinner conversation -- go there for the music!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveling4some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    69
    26
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Celebrating with friends.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

July 16 2013, we were celebrating 30 year marriage of some friends. We usually go to the Station House Restaurant on special occasions and we have never been disappointed. We enjoy the young singers who are quiet talented and give good value for a night out along with a good meal. We had a waitress named Courtney, who by the way was outstanding. A neat setting that carries you back in time.If you are a tourist I would reccommend it for family, friends, and couples. A pleasent evening really good food. Price wise for what you get is top of the shelf.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food and the entertainment were excellent as was the service.
We really enjoyed our evening there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula1964_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and delicious”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were invited in for a free appetizer with our meal and were pleasantly surprised by the quality entertainment. The servers sing for you and they are GOOD! The food and service was good and we enjoyed our time there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An Extra-Special Entertainment Experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Okay, I have this the maximum number of stars, and the pop-up question asked me if it's one of the best meals I've ever eaten in a restaurant, and I can't say yes to that exact question. However, I can say that it's one of the most enjoyable dining experiences I have ever had. The food is decent enough, but the experience of the singing servers is so wonderfully charming that I have to give this place the maximum score. Our waiter Eli was so genuinely friendly and attentive and gave an especially good rendition of Three Dog Night's "Never Been to Spain." In an age when major cities seem to feature more and more of the same cookie-cutter casual dining chains, this place is a welcome dose of character and eccentricity. If you enjoy live music, particularly weighted toward pop hits from the '60s and '70s, don't miss the opportunity to dine here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwallace67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station House Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing