We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat but very over priced”
Review of Community Pie

Community Pie
Ranked #13 of 836 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Traditional New York Style & Neapolitan Pizza, Handmade Gelato, and Craft Beers.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Neat but very over priced”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I visit Chattanooga a lot and there are way better places to go.. This is a skip this place! The atmosphere is very good, new hip place.. But it's basically pizza and it's very very expensive for what you get.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAtravler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    156
    40
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“mediocre”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to Community Pie the night of my birthday because the staff of Urban Stack (which we LOVED) recommended it. To be completely fair, it would have been better if all the other meals we'd eaten that weekend had not been utterly splendid! So I am afraid it just suffered by comparison. On the other hand, if you are only in Chattanooga for a short time, I would not use up one of your meals here. The atmosphere is really cool, and the toppings are unusual and one-of-a-kind. Also, the beer list is PHENOMENAL. However, the pizza itself was, frankly, soggy. I had to roll it up into a kind of pizza burrito to eat it. Also, our waitress made it seem like she needed to flee from our presence as soon as possible. Again, this was not a bad experience overall – just not a great one, and I probably wouldn't go back (especially because we have so many wonderful pizza places in Knoxville, which might have spoiled me).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HwaetWeGardena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Neat”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very trendy...lots of moustaches hanging around. Beer selection is great. Staff was a tad vapid. Fig pizza was great for the first slice, but the flavor got old fast. Kids LOVED it, so that counts. Head and shoulders above Mellow Mushroom. Will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank munchmunchbrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Novel Choices”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Community Pie is a well furnished, interesting facility. They have large hive shaped brick ovens which generate tremendous heat offering fast pizza. However, though the crust will be nicely browned and even blistered by the heat it is very soft. This is the place if you like thin crust pizza to fold over or roll up and eat (as some New Yorkers prefer). The topping selections are novel such as chorizo and chipotle honey. There's plenty of cheese, not so much sauce and modest topics but the ingredients are high quality.
The restaurant has an interesting seating area that is part of the interior but open on three sides for "outside dining effect". It would be the place to be "outside" if it were raining. The interior has a lot of hard surfaces and is open so it's noisy like a pizza place in Chicago (Giordano's comes to mind). Great location for downtown doings such as Nightfall at Miller Park or any downtown events are MLK and Market. Worth a try, Lupi's has better pizza if pizza is your sole reason to going out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Energx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lunch Spot”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We happened upon this after leaving the StoneFort and heading down to the museum. Good pizza ! Great atmosphere. We loved the pulled up garage doors in the middle of downtown! Made it a little loud but not too bad! We liked this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wobegonedays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Community Pie also viewed

 

Been to Community Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing