We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty and Nasty - Do Not Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dirty and Nasty - Do Not Stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

-The bedding was Dirty. We had two separate rooms and two dirty blankets. The first room's blanket had a thick dark brown substance on it...The second had what appeared to be dried blood. Why? According to the manager - they are a "green" hotel. So apparently, they don't use bleach - but they almost must not use SOAP or WATER! She acknowledged that they didn't know what the first brown thick gunky spot was - but she did confirm that the second blanket was indeed dried blood! :(

We won't be back - EVER. We usually like Springhill Suites but this is disgusting. The manager had the nerves to say "If you're ever in Chattanooga - please stay with us!" Was she serious??? lol

-Also, upon arriving the check-in girl was extremely rude and demeaning to us. She could have also addressed the room issues in a more professional issue but didn't. In order to resolve the stained bloody sheets fiasco, she brought up a sheet that smelled really nasty and that was also stained - maybe that was payback for our complaint.

Please don't stay there. In fact, most places in the state had nasty reviews! Drive through as quickly as possible if you're on a road trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CC-ELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGM37402, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
CC-ELL

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent stay. Unfortunately, we did not exceed your expectations as we strive to do with each and every guest. I have taken your feedback and have addressed the issues you mentioned accordingly. If you would like to discuss further, I can be reached at 423-834-9300.

Respectfully,
Jake Honegger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    178
    36
    9
    8
See reviews for
294
204
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Oh
Level Contributor
1,413 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 514 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It is a six month old hotel in a nice location, overlooking the river and at walking distance (probably not at night) from the surprisingly interesting and fun downtown Chattanooga. The hotel is a typical new generation SpringHill but has some nice ads on, such as a terrace with a big fireplace overlooking the river. As expected from a brand new property, everything is clean and working properly. Most rooms have a great view of the there was river and the mountain across. The young staff amply compensate some lack of experience with great enthusiasm. The price was reasonable, although there was an additional charge for parking which, based upon the location, I found unreasonable.

Room Tip: Most room on the second floor are for people with disabilities. The best rooms are on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for a cheerleading competition and they can be a tough bunch - straining even the most pleasant hotel staff. I can honestly say I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff so was nice and so helpful! The hotel common areas and the rooms were all nicely done and the rooms were large and clean. The morning breakfast service was great - approved by kids! We have always stayed right by the convention center for the cheer competition in years past so I was a bit concerned about the distance to the convention center, but turned out to only be minutes away from the hotel and the TN Aquarium is literally around the corner! My kids have already asked to stay here next year! We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaGirl60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice and fairly new unlike some of the older properties in Chatanooga. Would have given it a 5 but they don't have their restaurant open yet so I had to order in, no big deal. It is exactly what you would expect from a newer Marriott property.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This clean, comfortable, affordable hotel chain is now at the top of our list when traveling. The level of personal customer service we experienced at this hotel is beyond outstanding! On the day we checked out, we slept in and missed the free breakfast so, I called the front desk and asked if there was any coffee still available (I would rather have it from there than brew it in my room.) The nice lady at the front desk told me they had just put the coffee away but, she then offered to make a fresh pot -just for me! Wow, good coffee, over the top customer service. Every employee with whom we came into contact was friendly and courteous. The room was large and comfortable and "as clean as a whistle." Kudos, you guys! Well done.

Room Tip: The rooms with 2 queens are large with walk in closets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The kids especially liked the indoor pool and the view of the river. The hotel is very clean and the staff is quite friendly. Breakfast was great too. I especially liked the healthful options like spinach and walnuts.

Room Tip: River view is beautiful. Wish the balcony views didn't cost so much more. Pop for the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovlafliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a very good time. The hotel itself is obivously new and the staff was very nice - almost overly eager to please us - which was great since it was a getaway weekend for us! The hotel is a little away from all the tourist stops which was nice, but still close enough that the taxi was only $3 each way. So we still got to enjoy eveything we wanted to see and do.

The only negative I had was that the hotel bar closed at 10pm both Friday and Saturday night, which wasn't really a big issue for us.

Thank you for a great couple getaway weekend!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.8 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Property: SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Address: 495 Riverfront Pkwy, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look no further than the SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor for contemporary style, spacious comfort, and great value. Our downtown Chattanooga hotel offers studio, one and two-bed suites, each with a pull-out queen sofa bed for your convenience. Additional features include a microwave, and mini-fridge. Stay connected to family and colleagues with a large work desk and free high-speed Internet access, or simply stretch out in front of your flat-screen TV. There's no better way to start your morning than with our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet. You can also maintain your workout routine during your stay with a visit to our pool and fitness center. And don't forget our prime location which allows guests to be just moments from downtown Chattanooga attractions such as the TN Aquarium, and S. Belle Riverboat. Our business hotel also features a 24-hour business center, as well as on-site meeting space, equipped to make your next business function a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing