We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new surprise near the attractions!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Beautiful new Marriott within walking distance to attractions by the river in Chattanooga. Our room was huge, only complaint was a rather large crack under the door that allowed the hall light in. We placed a rolled bath towel against the crack to darken the room. Nice breakfast bar available but was just fair. The scrambled eggs were cold..a waffle station would have been great!
In all, the staff were excellent,very friendly and helpful. Would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treblehook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 810 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at SpringHill Suites Chattanooga while touring the Civil War battlefields in the area. We were wowed by the bright, contemporary lobby design which had a full service bar. It was a chilly night and outside there was a fire pit going in the spacious patio area. We joined some other guests and enjoyed a couple drinks around the cherry fire. Our suite didn't feel like a hotel room - it felt like a residential apartment. The bathroom was like stepping into a work of art, it was so beautiful. And the bed was to die for - totally comfortable like at home. Every single detail of the room was a level or two better than at competitor hotels. Then there was the complimentary breakfast next morning. It had the largest selection of items from eggs and turkey sausage to the freshest fruit, Greek yogurt, and on and on. Best complimentary breakfast we ever had.
The only downside is that the hotel is on the river, about a half mile from downtown so if you are set on being right downtown this may not be for you. On the other hand, at a somewhat higher rate you can get a suite with a balcony over looking the river and other sights like Lookout Mountain and Missionary ridge.

We had a great time - you will too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I were so impressed with the hospitality, cleanliness, food, decor- everything across the board. We extended our stay to wait out hurricane Sandy and the staff could not have made the change easier. Everyone from the housekeepers to the breakfast staff were smiling and helpful. True southern hospitality!

Room Tip: A river view room is an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at SpringHill Suites Downtown Chattanooga a couple of weekends ago (October 13) and had a very nice time. Walking distance to many attractions. Very clean, great breakfast, and outgoing staff who were ready to answer any questions. Great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyKovacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I had a great stay at the SpringHill Suites last week. The property is brand-new, very clean and modern-looking. The lobby area has lots of inviting sitting areas and tables scattered around for breakfast. The back patio is well above the river, but you can still see the water. It looks like the Riverwalk is going to be extended as far as the SpringHill Suites in the coming years - which will make for an awesome location!! We really enjoyed the firepit.

Speaking of location, as we arrived in the dark and came in from the more industrial part of down, we didn't realize until the next day how close the SpringHill Suites is to the downtown/Aquarium area (which is adorable). It was a very easy eight-minute walk - I think the sidewalk is well-lit for night walking, and I didn't feel like it would be unsafe.

The room (king-size river view, no balcony) was nicely furnished, and the bathroom looked like a spa. I feel like the layout could have been better, though. The bathroom door was right in front of the bed and slid open-closed. It looked nice, but it made it so that the entire room was flooded with light when someone got up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom. If you are a light sleeper, this might be a problem for you!

As others have said, the breakfast buffet was fantastic. Lots of healthy options, including Kashi cereal and Greek yogurt! I also loved the oatmeal bar with six different toppings. Lots of coffee creamer options, too.

Everyone at the front desk was very helpful, as well. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AcrossTheUniverse822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here after Marriott said the downtown Marriott was full.

Wish I had slept under a bridge.

First, a bit of truth in advertising: This hotel is NOT in downtown Chattanooga. The edge of the downtown district is a half-mile away. You wouldn't dare walk it at night.

Second, when you pull into the parking lot, note the "This lot is not owned by Marriott" disclaimer: Translation: You will be charged $8 at check in to use the lot. This is not mentioned anywhere in the hotel's infomation on line. It is a little surprise upon check in. Here's a suggestion: Raise your rates $8 a night and swallow the parking fee. It's tacky.

Third, when you park in the lot and carry your suitcase to the side dooor, you are faced with a dozen steps straight up.

Finally, the rooms are decorated in mid-20th Century prison. I know I am not Marriott's target demographic in the Springhill Suites concept, but I pay a boatload of money to stay in hotels every year. Could I feel comfortable in one and not sit and write on a cube?

Oh, and the staff is not friendly. Bordering on rude. In short, I come to Chattanooga on business at least 30 nights a year. I will never return to this poorly designed and executed hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BarefootTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHillGM37402, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

BarefootTom,

Thank You for providing feedback. I am disappointed to hear your stay was anything short of a great experience. We take all reviews very seriously. Allow me to address a few of your concerns.

Our hotel's location is on the edge of the 21st Century Waterfront and soon to be a vital part of the Tennessee Riverwalk. We are proud to be apart of the less congested area of downtown. Our location is close, if not closer, to the downtown attractions compared to the other full service hotels.

On the the hotels website, under "Fact Sheet" it states a parking fee of $8.00 per day. All email confirmations and reservation reminders state under "Summary of Room Charges" an on-site parking fee of $8.00 per day.

We encourage our guests to utilize the elevators located in the main lobby to access the guest rooms. The entrance mentioned near the parking lot is there as an option for guests who prefer to use the stairs instead of the elevator.

There is no excuse for anything short of exceptional service. Please contact me with any issues regarding our team members, so I can address.

We appreciate your straight forward feedback and hope you continue to use the Marriott family for your hotel needs.

Thanks,
Jake Honegger
General Manager
423-834-9300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We chose the SpringHill Suites to host out of town guests for our daughter's wedding. The hotel exceeded all of our expectations. The rooms were spacious, clean, and modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The front desk had a good knowledge of local restaurants and attractions and was always willing to help with special needs. Sales Coordinator, Justin Strickland, was a big help making sure all of our room needs were taken care of. The breakfasts were very good and even though the hotel was sold out they were able to handle the crowds. The fire pit by the river gave our group a good area to get together in the evenings. When staying here ask for a river view room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
1.1 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.9 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor

Address: 495 Riverfront Pkwy, Chattanooga, TN 37402-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: $150 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look no further than the SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor for contemporary style, spacious comfort, and great value. Our downtown Chattanooga hotel offers studio, one and two-bed suites, each with a pull-out queen sofa bed for your convenience. Additional features include a microwave, and mini-fridge. Stay connected to family and colleagues with a large work desk and free high-speed Internet access, or simply stretch out in front of your flat-screen TV. There's no better way to start your morning than with our complimentary deluxe hot breakfast buffet. You can also maintain your workout routine during your stay with a visit to our pool and fitness center. And don't forget our prime location which allows guests to be just moments from downtown Chattanooga attractions such as the TN Aquarium, and S. Belle Riverboat. Our business hotel also features a 24-hour business center, as well as on-site meeting space, equipped to make your next business function a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chattanooga Downtown/Cameron Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing