We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
gleason
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Don't stay Here”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

It's the worst hotel that we've ever stayed in. It was listed as brand new.That was a joke. Rooms very small and smelled musty and moldy. Breakfast bar had 3 pieces of bread , some stale sweet rolls and cereal . There were only 5 or 6 rooms rented. Now I know why. No hand towels or bath cloths and only 2 towels. Talked to another guest and the manager or owner ,rented him a room with 2 beds and told him NOT to sleep in the other bed. The coffee cups were unwrapped. And this motel had a gold star award> ????? Our coupon had a set price. He charged more because he said that was the price for 1 person.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    20
    23
    18
See reviews for
34
26
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This Hotel is a mess donot stay here. When we check into our room we saw stains on the sheet and look to be menuestration Blood on the Mattress! "Yikes" I saw this hotel online it was close to where we were going the next day and the rooms look nice and clean online so we decided to book it. Thats how we ended up there I just wanted something for one night for my family and I. We had a big day plan we got up and tried to make the best out of this hole in the wall we went down stairs for breakfast all they had was light bread and little debbie cakes I was so angry I paid 69.99 for my room that is with a AAA discount I was so taken back i never will stay here in this place again. I know there are a lot of reviews here and I love choice hotel but this is not a good choice i made. Take it from me take a chance if you like and stay here and see for your self you be like me typing your fingers off to get the message out run for your life!!!! never will they get my money I would have rather paid more if that the case for good service and a better hotel it make choice hotels look bad, it was a waste of my money and time.

Room Tip: Im not sure about the comfort inn & suits but i would try them instead that hole in the wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I had to wait a few minutes at the front desk before anyone showed up, but once there, I had no problems checking in - even using points from previous stays for a free room.
All rooms are located inside and there is a nice elevator to take you up to the higher levels.
The room was clean and beds comfortable. It did have a stale order but we always keep air freshner and disinfectant on hand and a quick spray and turning on the air took care of it.
There weren't a lot of places to eat but it was easy to find a steakhouse with some directions from the desk clerk.
We were on the side that had McDonalds by it, but didn't notice any noise, infact, my daughter took my grandson over there to play since he had been in a car about 9 hours and needed to work out some energy.
We left before breakfast was served so I can't rate it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators so you don't have to hear noise from people getting off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggrandma001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

If you plan to visit Lookout Mountain, this hotel is convenient, but the hotel needs maintenance. We felt safe, but the room could have been cleaner, and the breakfast was the worst we had on our fourteen day trip. Cerial and coffee in a cramped, inhospitable lobby.

Room Tip: Make Reservations Online
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixRising88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nunnely, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

To be spending almost $100 a night I do not believe the hotel was worth the money. it was very small in general. The pool eventhough it was out of season if it had been in season i would have been very upset by it. It was very very small. the rooms were smal and there was mold and dirt on the vents of the air unit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cab035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I selected this Econo Lodge because of their sign in the front of the Hotel advertising "New Hi-Speed Internet," the only essential item that I needed while travelling. I received the WEP Key from the front desk clerk and tried logging on to their internet service. After many attempts, I gave up in frustration. I would connect onto their system but would have limited connectivity. I even tried using their hardwired hi-speed connection with no success..... I informed the manager at the time I checked out & he blamed my computer constantly saying the other guest were using the internet without any problems. (I am not sure how he checked with all the other guest to determine I was the only one with problems during the evening--but he assured me it was my computer and not their system after all, they just spent $8,000.00 for this system)
I felt very insulted by this employee when all he had to do was say something to the effect that he would look into the problem but instead he blamed me.
I know from personal experience that computer routers occassionly will malfunction and need to be reset in order to have connectivity--this jerk didn't even acknowledge the possibility of this. I also warned him that he was pissing me off & I will write a review for this hotel, which is something usually will not do.
My recommendation to anyone seeking accomdations is not to use this hotel because of their attitude!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjcutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We were pressed at the last minute for a hotel. We ended up at the Mcy D's next door to this hotel on our laptop trying to find a suitable establishment. We gave up and just took the obvious, this hotel next door to where we were. On the internet it was priced at 60 something a night. I added our AAA discount and it dropped it to 50 something a night. I then called the hotel directly to see what their AAA rate was and she quoted me 49.99. I was happy and booked a room.

Seeing as their parking lot literally had NO Cars parked I knew that we would be well taken care of. When we arrived 2 minutes later a gentleman was at the reservation desk. Noticed I didnt say greeted us. Because he just looked at us and I had to chime in "Yes, we have a room under Mrs. xxxx." He grabbed a small piece of paper and put it in front of me. Being that I am a smart cookie, I figured he wanted me to fill it out. Once again. He refuses to speak. He does say "How do you want to pay for this?" and I tell him. He hands me the key to the room. And thats the last we heard from him.

Long story short.....he needs better customer service.

CHEERS:
*Near Hardee's and Mc Donald's + Dollar General, Food Lion and CVS pharmacy
*Sits on Lookout Mountain and has quick access to Lookout Mountain and Ruby Falls
*Room was surprisingly clean in every way.
*Microwave and fridge in room
*TV worked perfectly
*Free Breakfast (see jeers for further details)
*Free WiFi (that they hack from the Mcy D's next door) works fine in room.

JEERS:
*Customer service at front desk needs A LOT OF HELP.
*While there is a free breakfast, no one ever told us about it. (see comment above this one)
*Bed comforter is thin and looks like its from the 70's
*No fitted sheet. They just had a flat sheet. I HATE when low-brow hotels do this. It just screams - lazy and cheap!
*Stains on carpet in hallway
*Entire hotel needs a face lift
*Hotel boasts a pool but neither my husband nor myself saw one. (see first comment under Jeers)
*Towels are rationed in your room. There were 2 bath and 2 hand towels, thats it !
*Soda, Ice and snack machines are all located on different floors! WTF?!
*We came down early (6 am) to check out, and not only was no one at the front desk --wait for it---THE FRONT DOORS WERE LOCKED! We were locked in our own hotel!! We couldn't even load bags into the car!

If you are staying for one night, then this will do the trick. If you are trying to save money and take the family to see the sights, and need cheap, safe accommodations , then this will be fine. However, if you like something a little more upscale and expect a certain level of customer service, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Well_Traveled_By_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Lookout Mountain
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Chattanooga Lookout Mountain TN
0.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#34 of 97 in Chattanooga
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
0.9 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#45 of 97 in Chattanooga
310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#43 of 97 in Chattanooga
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain

Property: Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain
Address: 150 Browns Ferry Rd, Chattanooga, TN 37419-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Lookout Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Chattanooga
Econolodge Lookout Mountain
Chattanooga Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing