We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a GREAT place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
cghlucky13
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a GREAT place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

We were passing through Chatanooga and asked a local where to stay...we are so grateful that he recommended the Stone Fort Inn! Turns out we got the last available room for the night (there was room at the Inn for us!) and we had a fantastic time staying there. The service was excellent with a very personal feel. Breakfast was a nice gourmet southern style buffet. Wine and cheese for the guests in the evening, and fresh baked cookies on each floor. We will definitely be returning here!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cghlucky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    96
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
332
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stumbled upon this gem of an inn while surfing the internet prior to our trip to Chattanooga. We chose it because we wanted to stay downtown.
Built in 1909, the StoneFort was recently taken over by owners Sidney and Edie. We never actually met Sidney but know that he was busy in the kitchen preparing fresh pastries, quiches, bacon and eggs and fresh fruits for breakfast, which was included in the price. Additionally, breakfast included little pots of tea, coffee, juices, cereals and yogurt.
Each room was decorated differently in the style of the period, and from the few peeks we managed into other rooms, one was better than the next! Each room had it's own large jacuzzi - some inside the bathroom, and some out on it's own terrace. Each room also had it's own air-conditioning unit to keep the room at exactly the temperature we wanted.
Little extras made our 3-night visit particularly special: Bottles of Pellegrino water placed daily in the room (gratis), home-baked chocolate chip cookies placed in bowls in the hallways outside the rooms, and classic romantic music piped in throughout the building.
The staff bent over backwards to make our stay memorable. For example, when we talked about going white water rafting, "Joy" downloaded all the options and directions, and left them under our door after we retired for the night.
If you are looking for a place with a personal touch, the StoneFort is the place to go!!

  • Liked — Hot tub in every room
  • Disliked — nothing, all was fabulous
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilijett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

We spent our first anniversary at the Stone Fort Inn in 2005, and it was an incredible experience. We were looking forward to another amazing weekend to celebrate our third anniversary, but we got anything but. Upon check-in, we were informed that the ownership had changed in April 2007, but felt no reason to expect that our visit would not be as wonderful as the last. The room appeared to be beautiful, until we turned down the covers the first night to discover that there was no fitted sheet on the bed, just a flat sheet on top of the mattress. We called the front desk to request one, but no one answered the phone. My wife went downstairs to ask about it, only to find the desk vacated. Some other guests in the common area informed her that they thought the desk was between a shift change. My wife found some sheets in an open armoire in the upstairs hallway, and we made the bed ourselves. We called and left a message with the front desk to let them know, but they never called us back to ensure the problem was solved (or even to apologize).

The next day, we came back in the mid-afternoon from a day of siteseeing. It was extremely hot (around 100 F), and my seven-month pregnant wife went downstairs to ask for a bucket of ice to cool our water with. The gentleman at the front desk was on the telephone dealing with what sounded like a reservation change. No big deal; we figured we'd just walk back to the dining room and see if we could find someone who could get us some ice. We found a lady who was setting up for what we found out was a wedding reception planned for that night, and we asked if we could have some ice for our room. She asked, "Was there no-one at the desk to help you?" We told her there was but that he was on the phone with another customer. She replied, "Just a minute." She walked to the front desk, and we could only hear part of what she said, but we did hear: "...and now I'm having to get ice for guests!" She returned and said that someone would be bringing us some ice soon. Another gentleman came out of the kitchen with a bucket of ice, which we thanked him for and then headed back upstairs to our room.

That evening (Saturday), we returned from dinner at 9pm to hear the wedding reception, complete with a DJ and very loud music, going on downstairs. The music came though loud and clear to our room upstairs. We called the front desk to ask what time the music would end, and we were informed that it was suppossed to end at 9pm and that the manager was trying to get them to wrap it up. The music finally stopped at 10:45pm. We've stayed in several bed-and-breakfasts, and we have never had to deal with loud music. The website for the Stone Fort Inn states that it is "not suited for children under 12 years of age." I have never heard children as disruptive in a B&B as this party was.

On the positive side, the breakfast was delicious both mornings. There was quiche, pastries, fruit, sausage, bacon, cereal, coffee, tea, and juice both mornings. Saturday morning presented us with a delicious shrimp-and-grits, and Sunday morning's entree was scrambled eggs and chili.

We thought that we had found our own special, romantic place, but after the problems of this weekend, it's likely to be a long time before we return to the Stone Fort Inn, if ever.

  • Liked — Breakfast, downtown location
  • Disliked — Noise, inattention to details, attitude of some of the staff.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3dawgnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange,GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

We have never stayed in a bed and breakfast before so we did not know what to expect. It was amazing!! The customer service there was personal and on the money, never have I had a business make me feel so at home and comfortable. The room was large and had plenty of natural light with beautiful antiques decorating the room. I have never stayed anywhere that i got as good of a nights sleep as i do in my own bed. That was not the case here, the beds were so comfortable you didn't want to get out of bed in the mornings, but when you did you were completely rested. Everyone on the staff that we met were so nice and dedicated to making sure that you felt at home and comfortable that it made you not want to leave. The food was incredible, the breakfast you get when you stay here is truly gourmet, you can't help but finding yourself looking forward to breakfast just to see what is next. It really is that good. It is within walking distance of a lot of really good restaurants and the aquarium. I feel like I have found a home away from home and I will stay there anytime I am in the area. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to relax or have a romantic get away, or is tired of not getting personal attention when they stay somewhere.

  • Liked — EXTEMELY COMFORTABLE, GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE
  • Disliked — LEAVING!!!!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BODYMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

This was our second stay at the Stone Fort Inn, and it was as wonderful as the first. This inn was actually our main reason for returning to Chattanooga. The staff is wonderful, friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Breakfast is always something to look forward to. The beds are the most comfortable I've slept in away from home. Joy even delivered homemade chocolate chip cookies our room personally one evening. I wouldn't change a thing about this place, and highly recommend it to all, except those with young children.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the StoneFort Inn and can't say enough about this B&B! We stayed in a Queen Suite, decorated with antiques, and so clean you could eat off the floor. The attached sitting room (with fireplace) was perfect for my husband to set up his computer for business and for me to read. The big bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and shower. Breakfast was fabulous all three days (Saturday you have your own chef!). Quiche, pastries, fruit, excellent coffee, --- much more than we expected. Joy is a jewel and kept us laughing. Both she and Kim made us feel so special. We will definitely stay there again when visiting Chattanooga!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — There was nothing not to like.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MollyandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Once in a great while, a plan really comes together. Everything is as hoped for. That was our experience for the long weekend these past few days at The Stone Fort Inn in Chattanooga. From the jazz on the website to the home baked chocolate chip cookies in the hallway to the wine and cheese at six, everything about this nearly one hundred year old boutique hotel was beyond expectations. Was it perfect? No, it's a hundred year building for crying out loud. I am not yet sixty and my floors sag here and there. Was it charming? Yes. Was the two room suite with a huge bathroom sporting jacuzzi and walk in shower a value for the price? Absolutely. Is the staff, Kim, Joy, Will and the lovely Miss Edie overwhelimingly friendly and helpful? You bet. Is Chattanooga one of the best kept secrfets in the country. Yes, for sure. I nearly decided not to write this, just keep the place to myself, but I want them to thrive and prosper, so I am telling the world. This is a gem of a hotel in a jewel of a city. We cannot wait to go back. Thanks folks.

  • Liked — The genuine hospitality of the accomodations and the staff
  • Disliked — There is nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tstrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing