We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the StoneFort!”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2007

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the StoneFort Inn and can't say enough about this B&B! We stayed in a Queen Suite, decorated with antiques, and so clean you could eat off the floor. The attached sitting room (with fireplace) was perfect for my husband to set up his computer for business and for me to read. The big bathroom had a jacuzzi tub and shower. Breakfast was fabulous all three days (Saturday you have your own chef!). Quiche, pastries, fruit, excellent coffee, --- much more than we expected. Joy is a jewel and kept us laughing. Both she and Kim made us feel so special. We will definitely stay there again when visiting Chattanooga!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MollyandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 513 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2007

Once in a great while, a plan really comes together. Everything is as hoped for. That was our experience for the long weekend these past few days at The Stone Fort Inn in Chattanooga. From the jazz on the website to the home baked chocolate chip cookies in the hallway to the wine and cheese at six, everything about this nearly one hundred year old boutique hotel was beyond expectations. Was it perfect? No, it's a hundred year building for crying out loud. I am not yet sixty and my floors sag here and there. Was it charming? Yes. Was the two room suite with a huge bathroom sporting jacuzzi and walk in shower a value for the price? Absolutely. Is the staff, Kim, Joy, Will and the lovely Miss Edie overwhelimingly friendly and helpful? You bet. Is Chattanooga one of the best kept secrfets in the country. Yes, for sure. I nearly decided not to write this, just keep the place to myself, but I want them to thrive and prosper, so I am telling the world. This is a gem of a hotel in a jewel of a city. We cannot wait to go back. Thanks folks.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tstrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

My wife and I liked this bed-and-breakfast hotel so much that we returned. It's right downtown within walking distance of restaurants. Parking is very convenient. The rooms are all different--unique furniture and wall hangings. Very spacious, especially the tiled bathrooms which have a toilet stall, a shower stall, and a large jacuzzi style tub. Everything is early 19th century. The public rooms, which include a very large reading room, dining area + bar, and a billiards room are splendid. The breakfast with upscale coffee, croissants, fresh fruit, breakfast quiche, and other items is a real treat. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. Anyone who would choose a cookie cutter grand hotel over this little gem is making a mistake.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMS_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary and it was perfect. From arrival to departure, everyone was kind and helpful and went above and beyond the norm to make our stay special.

The hotel was spotless from top to bottom and our queen suite was beautiful. Each room has a different vibe, but any room you get will be wonderful. Not to mention the 2 person jacuzzi tub you get for no extra charge. Speaking of charges, we got an excellent excellent rate that included a light breakfast. They even had fresh baked cookies in the hallway and a pool table downstairs. Amazing!

The best selling point for me was the no children policy. That, the quiet surroundings and the romantic rooms make this a perfect couples getaway. Because Chattanooga is such a small city, you will be close to everything, you can even park the car and catch the free shuttle up and down Broad and Market streets.

I highly recommend this Inn and when you go tell Kim and Joy Michelle said hello.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank love2travelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kikiroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

This B&B is exceptional. The staff caters to you like you are family. The rooms are huge and comfortable, the food is supurb, and the overall effect is charming and romantic .

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BarryNickelsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank winepedlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: $259 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dwell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing