We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dwell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
$115
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$184
$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Royal Inn(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
$85
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga(Chattanooga)(Great Value!)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$165
$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Chattanoogan(Chattanooga)
$170
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
356
104
42
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
104
42
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone fort innb bterra maeboutique hotelprivate balconygas fireplacehardwood floorsdowntown chattanoogawalk in showerbreakfast was includedharrisonearplugsfurnishingsbalconiestubmattressvalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 533 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Over the years, my husband and I have stayed at approximately 30 B&B's throughout the US and we would have to rate the StoneFort Inn as #1. Lovely property with excellent staff. Eddie really makes you feel special - as though you are a personal guest. The other staff are just as attentive and the gourmet breakfast, introduced by a lovely gentleman who shared Chef Brian sure can cook - was right. This was absolutely the best breakfast we have ever eaten. Not only that, the chef comes out to talk with the guests and is also willing to share his wonderful recipes. We were travelling with another couple and rented two terrific rooms with a sitting room in between - it was perfect. The beds were very comfy and the extra size jacquizi bath was perfect after walking all day. The wine and cheese happy hour on weekends was very nice - not the two buck chuck and cheese whiz you find at other locations. You will find bowls of individually wrapped fresh chocolate chip cookies located throughout the building which is also a very nice touch. If you like B&B inns, HIGHLY RECOMMEND you visit this boutique hotel. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelandtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Our experience appears to be a little different from other reviewers due to our arrival on a Sun. afternoon for 2 nights. Also, we stayed in the cheapest room on the front first floor instead of a suite. The difference is that our room was not large & spacious but average sized. It did have a very large bath & Jacuzzi. Both mornings breakfast were the same, not "gourmet," and excellent with scrambled eggs & bacon, toast, a spinach quiche, fresh fruit salad, juice, cereals and very good coffee. In addition, on Mon. there was a very good streusel & Tues. croissants. We had to park in a private parking lot behind the building across the street & were charged $5 a day. We left our car in the lot and took the convenient free shuttle into town, although we walked back as it is not far from the river front. There was no wine & cheese, cookies for us, so only expect them on Fri. & Sat, as the “gourmet” breakfast. {Although we were very pleased with our breakfast & couldn't have eaten more.)

The hotel is old with European charm & lots of antiques in big public rooms, similar to b & b's we've stayed at in Savannah. We especially loved the dining area. The hotel is conveniently located, surrounded by gov't buildings so is quiet, with lovely Miller Park, pavilion and take-away shops around the corner. We did not feel unsafe, although in the evening, the atmosphere does change in the park & along Market.

The bathroom was very clean with soaps and shampoo/conditioner samples & good towels. The bed was a queen, well fitted with quality sheets & pillows, a little soft & slopping toward the middle for my aching back. The room felt clean.

My main criticism is that the windows were filthy, the blinds and window sills dusty and a cob web in at least one corner of the room. I might not have noticed these things but one of the windows was open at the bottom letting in street noise from leaf blowing at the post office early Mon. morning. In trying to close it, I came in close contact with the above. Also, street lights required closing the blinds and the roman shades to darken the room. There are 2 very small bedside lamps, one of which did not work. In order to read, we turned on the overhead chandelier, very bright, which brought the cobweb into view. [The chandelier bulbs could use a good cleaning, too.] There are waterspots on the ceiling in the bathroom & bedroom & some wallpaper coming unglued in the bedroom, plus lots of nicks on the old woodwork. It could use some touch-up painting. In charming, old, dimly lighted hotels it's often difficult to distinguish dirt from shabby. That said, the bathroom & beds were definitely clean.

I may have given StoneFort a higher rating than it deserves but I would much prefer to stay in a b & b with character than a cookie-cutter franchise for the same price. The wonderful breakfast & overall charm of the building made it a decent value & fun stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Inn is a beautiful place to stay. Centrally located in Chattanooga close to shopping and restaurants. Excellent breakfast!! We were amazed by the hospitality of the staff that never said no. Every one of our needs were met. As bicycle racers we were able to store our expensive machines indoors with no problem. We asked to be directed to a laundromat and Eidie a very special innkeeper suggested that we let her do it in house. When we came back from dinner 2 loads of laundry were neatly folded and delivered to our room. Wine and cheese social on weekends. Luxurious decor, hot tub and fireplace in every room. We loved our stay and emailed all of our friends to tell them of our experience before we even left town. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Chattanooga!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikecouplemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

An absolute gem in the heart of Chattanooga, close to the free shuttle bus service that runs between the Choo Choo and the riverside.

Our room was charming with a huge bathroom and the highest bed I have ever seen.

Friday and Saturday, complimentary cheese and wine are provided for guests and on Saturday and Sunday, there is a gourmet breakfast. Forget your grits and scrambled egg - here you will get eggs benedict, blueberry biscuits, sausage and bacon kebabs, etc etc.

Only drawback - lack of parking, but as we were there at the weekend, we could use the business park next door.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

If you're from out of town like us, and want a base of operations for family & friends to operate out of for a local wedding, the Stone Fort Inn (SFI) is the place for you! We contracted with the SFI for a rehearsal dinner on that Friday evening, 60 people in all. The meal was fabulous, the SFI's Staff didn't miss a beat and were very attentive. Both of Chef Brian's desserts, Creme Brulee and Bread Pudding w/cherry and bourbon sauce were to die for....
We filled the place with our family & friends for two nights and it became our home-away-from. While we all came to Chattanooga for my son's wedding, the atmosphere of the SFI allowed this gathering to become a family reunion as well! Cousins stayed up late playing pool in the billiards room, other family members played cards in the dining room, and still others just sat and visited into the wee hours of the morning in the SFI's living room - and the SFI staff was very cordial and accommodating the whole time. Edie and I communicated numerous times prior to the weekend and that was the secret to the overwhelming success of the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espeelark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews