We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best little hotel in Tennessee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Dalton, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best little hotel in Tennessee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2010

This "boutique" hotel is very quaint and has individually appointed rooms in one of the historic buildings of Chattanooga. The staff is wonderful, always going above and beyond expectations, from freshly baked cookies upon arrival to making wine available upon request in the evenings! Wake up to a Stone Fort breakfast that may include fresh fruit, pastries or eggs. As an event planner with a company located about 45 minutes away, I use the Stone Fort Inn for many of our clients and colleagues visiting from across the nation. Once the group arrives at our office, they have only raves for the Stone Fort and request to stay there whenever they return to visit us. Everyone visiting the Chattanooga area should stay at least one night in the Stone Fort - it's very close to the art district, the riverfront, aquarium, spa, baseball, restaurants, clubs and most anything else of interest. Don't forget to meet Ms. Edie while you are there - she is awesome! Did I mention that you can have arranged a drawn bath with rose petals - so romantic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJInvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    97
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
336
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary by spending the night at the StoneFort Inn. As we spent our wedding night there, the StoneFort will always be a special place for us, I would recommend this lovely boutique hotel to anyone. The rooms are beautifully furnished and we especially enjoy the oversize, jetted tubs.
I think hotels in this category can really be set apart by their staff, and in this regard, the StoneFort shines. They are always friendly and helpful but don't hover. Breakfast has been fabulous on every visit, the staff provides a wide variety of options and includes a daily special as well.
The StoneFort Inn is located in the heart of Chattanooga's downtown which makes it convenient for business travelers as well as couples looking for an amazing getaway destination.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutumbojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

the location and service were excellent, our room was a litte tired and creaky at night but still enjoyable recommend thrid floor whirpool balcony rooms. We enjoyed the whirpool tub nightly and warming up by the fireplace. The staff was very helpful and friendly and our meal at Table 2 was outstanding. There are some great bars and resturants downtown. Our favorite watering hole was the terminal near the Choo Choo.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knobrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

My husband and I first stayed at the Stonefort Inn in 2003, stayed the night of our engagement in 2006, and twice since. We always loved the look of the hotel, but the service used to be the highlight our stay.

Unfortunately, things have really gone downhill at Stonefort. We were actually two of the original guests on opening weekend, so as multiple repeat guests at a small boutique hotel, we would have appreciated, at the very least, a warm hello. However, when we told the innkeeper this was our 5th stay, she only said, "well, then you can tell US where to recommend people for dinner then." Also, we were here for our 3rd anniversary, and Stonefort used to do a great job of recommending romantic packages and "extras" for the room that are so well documented on the website, like rose petals, massage, etc. They don't make as much effort to "romanticize" their inn anymore, though it was decorated nicely for Christmas. We use to receive a tour of the entire 1st floor, but were simply taken up the elevator to our room this time.

Our room, compared to past stays, was disappointing. It was a queen room on the 3rd floor, and was not very clean. There was a broken piece of China on the side table and parts of the room did not look well dusted. One highlight was that Stonefort has brought back Aveda products (they had downgraded to Bath and Body Works a few years ago). Like another reviewer, I found the shower curtains dingy, which means they really should update them. Also, our bathtub drain was faulty and we had to stop it up with a washcloth. At such a small in, housekeeping should really be keeping up with things like this.

The morning of our departure, my husband went down for breakfast. A wedding was apparently happening later in the day, and he was yelled at by a florist like he was a servant to hold the door open. The innkeeper then complained about the draft of the open door when he politely helped the florist. Finally, the breakfast - it tasted great, but the chef stopped my husband from filling his plate to "explain" the food at the buffet, and when my husband asked where he might find a tray to bring up some breakfast for us to eat in the room (we had done this on all previous trips without a problem), the chef said we had to ask the innkeeper, and the inkeeper said we had to ask the chef. Needless to say, we didn't feel we should ask anyone's permission as we were paying guests.

The creaks, noise issues, street sounds, etc. were expected in such an old, downtown building with such a varied clientele. I feel that better service and attention to detail would have made our stay a much better one, as we were already inclined to love Stonefort. Sadly, the inkeepers and staff seem to have stopped caring about customer service and a warm attitude. For us, lack of that one essential ingredient will keep us from coming back to a place that was privy to so many wonderful memories.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimjimworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamiclark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

My niece had her wedding at the Stone fort Inn on December the 19th, This was the worse experiece I have ever had dealing with an establisment, The groom and his brother had to come in the morning of the wedding and move all the tables and chairs, themselves, And Ms. Edie is the rudiest person I have ever met. Her own staff, say the way she talks to them makes them cry sometimes. If it had not been for ruinning the day, There would have been a massive Blowup. I would not suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kamiclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERDIDOFLYER, Front Desk Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2010
I would like to say just a word or two in response to the above review. It is very fair to say that Ms. Edie gets many compliments and accolades, as several of the other reviews prove. She has been in this business for many, many years and she knows the events (like weddings) inside out and in great detail. She often surprises me in that she can predict ahead of time things that are going to happen - she knows her stuff that well. On the particular day mentioned above, there was a certain amount of stress in the air quite early on. The ladies that were there setting up for the wedding didn't seem to realize that we had hotel guests who were still enjoying their breakfast when they arrived and were wanting to get into our dining room to set up for the wedding. Our policy has always been that guests in our hotel are our first priority. The groom, who was a very nice fellow, did come with another fellow to move all the chairs and tables because our contract states that there is an added charge for substantial furniture moving. It is my opinion that Ms. Edie was doing her best to save them that additional charge by letting them do it themselves because it did involve substantial furniture moving! Unfortunately rudeness on this particular occasion was a street that ran both ways. The ladies arranging the wedding event were expecting way more than could be given them on their limited budget and were somewhat upset about what their budget had afforded them - for some reason, they tried to assume the entire first floor as if it were at their disposal. The bride was very determined to have her wedding at the StoneFort and it truly was a beautiful wedding and reception. Ms. Edie did everything she could to ensure that it was absolutely lovely. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2009

I had occasion to stay at the StoneFort Inn in Chattanooga over the 2009 Thanksgiving holiday weekend, staying in a third-floor Queen Suite. The Inn certainly lived up to its billing as a luxury boutique hotel, and I am so pleased I happened upon its web site when making my plans for Chattanooga. Edie McGee and her hospitable and considerate staff made the Inn a perfect place to come “home” to at the end of the day. My room was comfortable, and the furnishings made for an exceptionally pleasant setting. The gourmet breakfasts in the sunny breakfast room were exquisite; the common areas a delight to relax in. For the frequent traveler searching for something beyond the usual cookie-cutter downtown hotel, there can be no finer place in Chattanooga than the Stone Fort Inn.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muktifund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Staying at the Stonefort Inn is a unique and wonderful experience. The hotel has all the charm of a old world hotel coupled with exceptional service. The rooms are well appointed and tastefully decorated. We loved the jacuzzi tub! The owners are so accommodating and the rest of the staff is warm and caring. Food was excellent. Overall it was a lovely stay and so very different from most other hotels that are so impersonal and ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discriminatingguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing