We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream of a room.”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We celebrated our anniversary (two months late) with a trip to Chattanooga. The Stonefort Inn was everything we had hoped it would be; beautifully decorated, comfortably furnished. Just like home, only I didn't have to do the cleaning.
The staff was great, they really made us feel at home. If we needed anything they were ready to take care of us. We would definitely stay at the Stonefort again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for The Dwell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 511 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2009

We loved this Inn! Full of history, a great staff, really good breakfast and great location. Our room was a queen w/balcony. The balcony had a 2 person hot tub on it and was very private. The room as well as the entire Inn is tastefully decorated and fully restored. I wish we could have stayed longer! Free Choc Chip cookies in the afternoon and check out each room if they are open. They are all different and unique!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We were treated like one of the family by the staff. Everyone there was very warm and friendly. The Inn is decorated with turn of the century furnishing. Our room was decorated beautifully with an ajoining sitting room. The bathroom was huge with a French shower and a large jacuzzi tub. We had internet access in every room. The TV's were equiped with VHS players and a large supply of videos if ever you get bored. We never did. A wonderful breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room with fresh flowers on each table. A large library is available for reading. We had easy access to parking, but rarely needed to use the car. We could walk to anywhere we decided to visit. The staff was also helpful at suggesting great places to eat.
James H. & Deborah Sudderth

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baileespoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

While the primary purpose of our trip to Chattanooga was business, we wanted to throw some pleasure in there, too. Staying at the Chattanooga Choo-Choo -- now a Holiday Inn property -- wasn't in our plans. We looked at B&B's elsewhere in town and then we found the Stone Fort Inn. Thank goodness! This place is one of those serendipities that happen only occasionally. The downtown location is great and is walking distance to the Electric Shuttle. The Inn is renovated top to bottom and is gracious and luxurious while retaining a price point that is similar to a mid-range chain hotel. Each room has a two-person jacuzzi and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite, which includes a separate sitting room with fireplace. Every room is decorated uniquely, all with antiques, and are spotlessly clean. Beds are comfortable with high quality linens. Bathrooms are stocked with Aveda products, and you'll find a bowl of freshly-baked cookies in the hallway outside your room.

Breakfasts are outstanding thanks to the culinary skills of Brian, a professional chef who also is one of the managers. The evening wine and cheese is more than just the typical cheese cubes; instead, there is a nice assortment of cheeses including dill Havarti, brie, sharp cheddar and more and the evenings we were there they were pouring more than adequate South African bottles.

We spent three nights at the Stone Fort and I felt genuinely sad when we had to leave. What a great place -- next time we're in Chattanooga, we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leenda324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I would have put a five star rating, but I'm stingy with the five stars... I don't think I've given one yet. The service was great at the Stone Fort. The bathroom was amazing. The pillows could be softer, and the shades could shield the light more effectively. However, the freshly baked cookies, the helpful Brian, the awesome antique Coke machine... those things made up for any shortcomings of comfort in the bedroom. I guess it wasn't super quiet, but that didn't bother us; it's what got us to wake up and try the delicious breakfast, where the service was wonderful again. You should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjgjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

The StoneFort Inn is a lovely B&B with comfortable public areas and a wonderful breakfast, both in the quality of the food and the service. Our room was very comfortable, with a cozy, tall, fluffy bed. Although the staff is small, our needs were always met quickly. The location is convenient to all downtown attractions, if you are a good walker. But, people with mobility issues could access the free downtown shuttle fairly easily.

Yes, the floors squeak and the rooms are not all uniform. It's a restored historic building. (If you are sensitive to noise, request a 3rd floor room when you book.) Yes, there is some street noise, and there is some exposure to urban conditions. It's downtown. Yes, you may have to wait a couple of minutes for assistance. The staff is small, but will attend to you as soon as they are free from helping other guests. Travelers looking for a uniform facility, free from quirks, and nearly complete isolation from other guests and staff should consider a large modern chain hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bagpipe_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a romantic night away. It was perfect! The hotel oozes charm and character. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous! The bed was large and overstuffed...super comfy. Every room has a whirlpool jacuzi tub for two. Some rooms have balconies with jacuzis...it just depends on your price point. We loved the fresh-baked cookies waiting for us after dinner. Breakfast was a lovely spread of cereals, oatmeal, croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, fresh juices, coffee, and tea. We were also given a chioce of quiche or eggs and bacon. It was delicious! The hotel is a bout a block away from the free shuttle service that takes you to many tourist attractions around the city. I would highly recommend this unique hotel to all my couple friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danyabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: $254 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dwell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing