We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite getaway spot”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite getaway spot”
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We just returned from our third stay at Stone Fort Inn and as usual it lived up to our expectations. Edie and her staff are so wonderful and they make you feel right at home. The rooms have so much character and we don't mind the fact that the floors squeak. It's an old building and that's part of the charm! The fresh baked cookies are yummy!

Clayborn makes breakfast a joy! He is a delightful man who ses to your every need. Here's an idea of what you will have if you are lucky enough to be there on a Sat or Sun morning: stuffed french toast, sausage and cheese strata,quiche, bacon, fresh fruit, and the BEST scones and coffee!, and much more.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    98
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
338
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We just spent one night at the Stonefort Inn. In some ways it was exactly what I expected, in others it was not. There are some positives and some negatives. First off my husband and I stayed in room 29. It was large and decorated really nicely. I would recommend this room, although there is a balcony that is shared with another room and there is absolutely no view. So if a large room is not important for you, I would forego the price to a smaller room. The 2 person tub would also not fit the two of us and we are average people. I am 5'5" and I was too tall to stretch out. Another negative that I read about previously was the noise. Outside noise is not a problem for me, but the floors are the squeakiest floors I have ever been on in my life. Not a big deal for me, but maybe for someone else. The inn is very pretty and the breakfast buffet was also very good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — clean, nicely decorated
  • Disliked — balcony view
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlking222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in October '08 to attend the Three Sisters Bluegrass Festival in downtown Chattanooga. The location was very good, even if not directly near the riverfront, and was within walking distance of everything and the free electric shuttle run by the city.

Pros: Nice ambience, restored building, large rooms, cozy, nice bathroom with large shower, excellent breakfast service staff, vegetarian breakfast item provided per our request, similar price to downtown hotels for more unique experience.

Cons: Rented queen suite but didn't use the adjoining sitting room at all, queen room would have been sufficient. Water leaked through ceiling one morning from the bathroom above; wine and cheese hour was disappointing (cheap, tasteless wine); loud street noise from trucks going past in early morning.

  • Liked — Restored building, unique from chain hotels, good hearty breakfast.
  • Disliked — Pipe leakage, disappointing wine/cheese hour, didn't get room decor we had been promised.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neutron_Lurver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I booked a trip to Chattanooga as a small romantic getaway after Christmas. The photos on Stone Fort's website are very true to life; the Inn is beautiful. We booked a Queen Suite, but I wish we had either upgraded or went for the Queen Room. The Suite came with a seperate sitting room that had a fireplace, but it wasn't very comfortable (it just had two wing back chairs) so we hardly used it. The bathroom was spacious and the two person jetted tub was very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable! Breakfast each morning was very good, too. Since we didn't stay on a weekend, we didn't get to experience the gourmet breakfast, but the weekday breakfast consisted of fresh fruit and yogurt, some of the best scones I've ever had, scrambled eggs and bacon, coffee, and more.

The only problems we ran into were on our third day. We were lounging in our room in the morning (taking our time, since this was, after all our vacation) and we were called by the front desk at 9am to say that a decorative curtain in our room needed to be repaired. We knew the curtain was broken, we just thought they'd check with us before scheduling the repair. My husband told the front desk clerk that we weren't really ready (neither of us had showered or gotten ready for the day) and he said he'd reschedule. However, less than 5 minutes later, another lady called back and basically told us we had to leave the room. They offered no apology, nothing. We decided to make the best of it though and not let it ruin our stay. However, I did feel it was very poor customer service. We are paying for the room; I felt they should work around us.

I would also not recommend the dinner theatre - we went to this on New Year's Eve. Some very questionable and possibly offensive content was in the play. If we hadn't spent so much money on it, we probably would've left. One couple at our table did.

Overall, the negative outweighed the good. We would probably return to the Stone Fort Inn again if we needed a place to stay in Chattanooga, despite the minor annoyances. With so many good reviews on here, maybe our experience was a fluke.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms, great breakfast
  • Disliked — poor customer service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

I travel a ton for work and this inn/small hotel ranks as one of the best hotels I have stayed at anywhere. The service was incredible right up there with the Peninsula in Hong Kong, the Milestone in London, the Oriental in Bangkok. I have never written a tripadvisor review before, but I wanted to recommend this hotel. We were a small group working on a film shoot and the Inn made us a full breakfast early, they did our laundry (we were shooting in caves), the booked us at different fantastic restaurants and they always made sure we had a supply of home baked cookies.

This is a one of a kind American Inn.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lenorenewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

In May of '08, my wife and I did a weekend trip to Chattanooga to see if we could find a romantic place to unwind on our wedding night to be at the end of August '08. I was told of Stone Fort Inn several years ago by a friend and his wife, so I thought it would be a good place to start.

Well... we were very satisfied. As a matter of fact, we decided upon checking out in May that our first two days of being married would be at Stone Fort Inn. We have found that one of the rooms is our favorite because of how fantastic the bed is. It's like sleeping in a cloud.

As far a the comment about no service, I don't see how some one could complain. Each time we checked in, it was explained by the host/greeter as to how late some one would be at the desk. Also, some one is always available by calling down to the desk. Additionally, 10 PM on our wedding night they called our room to inform us that we'd be having breakfast in bed at 9:30 the next morning!

Oh, the breakfasts during the weekends is awesome and is always changing. Oh yeah, we'll be back.... you'll probably see us there.

  • Liked — Old fashion accomidations
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NashvilleGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

we chose to start our holiday here, which was to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. It set a very high standard for the rest of our holiday. The hotel was very quaint and cosy. The staff were so friendly , kind and helpful, just what we needed after the long flight from uk and drive from Atlanta. The room was very clean, a good size with a generous size en-suite all tastefully decorated and the bed was sooo comfy. We saw the other rooms and would not have been dissapointed with any of them. The breakfast every morning had a good selection especially at the weekend, we had blueberry pancakes i was really looking forward to them and they did not dissapoint. The hotel was well situated, just a short walk to shops etc or use the free bus to get around the city centre. We visited Ruby Falls, Rock City and the Incline Railway all within a short drive from the hotel. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and would deffinately stay again.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing