We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2008

we chose to start our holiday here, which was to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. It set a very high standard for the rest of our holiday. The hotel was very quaint and cosy. The staff were so friendly , kind and helpful, just what we needed after the long flight from uk and drive from Atlanta. The room was very clean, a good size with a generous size en-suite all tastefully decorated and the bed was sooo comfy. We saw the other rooms and would not have been dissapointed with any of them. The breakfast every morning had a good selection especially at the weekend, we had blueberry pancakes i was really looking forward to them and they did not dissapoint. The hotel was well situated, just a short walk to shops etc or use the free bus to get around the city centre. We visited Ruby Falls, Rock City and the Incline Railway all within a short drive from the hotel. I would recomend this hotel to anyone and would deffinately stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 513 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2008

My husband & I stayed here the night we were married. We checked in much later than they had anticipated, but we were greeted by the sweetest man who quickly whisked us to our room. The room itself was gorgeous, and they had a bottle of wine waiting for us. We unfortunately only stayed the one night as we headed out on our honeymoon the next day. Because of an early flight out, we were scheduled to miss breakfast. The thoughtful staff had an early breakfast prepared for us anyway which really made our brief stay that much more memorable.

Beautiful accommodations, wonderful staff & an amazing location. This place is definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

I just put up 12 people in the Stone Fort Inn and every one of them made a point to compliment on how great the service and the rooms were. All 12 had to get up and leave before breakfast was scheduled to be available and Edie made it a point to serve breakfast early that morning. This was not the first time I had put people in the Stone Fort and I have never received anything but compliments.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank axldoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

When I booked the room i was informed that it was a full service inn. The only way to get service at the Stonefort is to do thing yourself. The help leaves or goes off at 10pm, after this there are no people about to answer calls or help.No ice,drinks,food,or help at all after 10pm, and they tend to leave the front at other times so those times too you can't get help or service. The area around the inn is not the nicest, and the parking is crowded and in short supply. The room decor was nice and the bathroom was excellent and spacious. My girlfriend and i were walked in on (in bed)by housekeeping. No knock just walked in.The day of checkout they called and hungup to make sure we knew to get out. Noone said thank you or goodbye or anything as i left,the lady at the front, just sat at the computer and did not turn around. I would like to say the service was bad but it was totally nonexistant. Not a good place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank knighterjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Found the hotel easily enough and had a very warm welcome from Brian who was standing in for the concierge. (He was one of the chefs!) He explained everything very well and suggested he book a table at Table 2 for us that evening ..excellent choice..one of the best meals we'd had for ages.
The room was comfortable and had all we needed,the only problem was traffic noise outside during the night..we would ask for a rear room next time.
Breakfast was great and plentiful, the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Overall a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed at the Stone Fort Inn last weekend and had an absolutely wonderful time. I can't say enough about the outstanding staff and service.

The Inn is romantic and restful. It is located downtown not too far from any of the attractions.

A great place for a weekend getaway -away from the kids!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DaytonaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

This building was built in 1909 and was once known as the Colonial Hotel. You can still see features that are original and restored. It is now an Inn/B&B and very well maintained. It looks as though it still has the original hardwood floors.

Overall I would say we had a very good stay at this location. The host and the breakfast staff were wonderful. We reserved a second floor room which had private balcony with a jetted tub. This was super nice and very relaxing. This room also has a claw foot tub and French shower along with a separate water closet (toilet). :)

The breakfast on Sunday morning was wonderful. Much more than a standard continental breakfast. The staff was extremely helpful in pointing out everything that was available to eat. They also had some outstanding coffee.

The only negatives I have about this location is the floors do creek a lot. We had someone above us on the third level and when they moved around we heard it all. If you are a late sleeper you can only hope the people above you are too. If I stayed here again I would request a room on the third level just because of the squeaking floors. The bed was a bit to giving or soft for my liking but my wife loved it so other than these two items I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range: $253 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dwell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing