We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dwell Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Read House(Chattanooga)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Chattanoogan(Chattanooga)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveler rating
356
104
42
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
356
104
42
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone fort innb bterra maeboutique hotelprivate balconygas fireplacehardwood floorsdowntown chattanoogawalk in showerbreakfast was includedharrisonearplugsfurnishingsbalconiestubmattressvalet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 533 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I always love the feel of a B&B much more than a commercial hotek!, and this place did not disappoint! The staff were very friendly, the prices were competitive, and the building was overflowing with character. The rooms were unique but cozy. The breakfast was amazing and much more gourmet than you will find at most hotels. I would highly recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay here. Great place. Lots of charm and character. Staff so helpful and friendly.
Don't be put off by reviews that this place is noisy. It's in the city but on a quiet side street. You get the typical urban road hum and occasional siren. You want absolute silence, go stay in chain in a suburb.
The room was large, Jacuzzi out on the balcony with a privacy screen. Robes in the armoir. Pellegrino water complementary. Great breakfast with fresh juice and good coffee.
We would definitely be back. Only complaint is the pillows were old, flat, lifeless.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed here this past weekend, and loved it! it's such a unique place. we are a bit wary of bed and breakfasts because we prefers a more professional atmosphere, but we thought this looked interesting. so glad we did! the place is gorgeous, and a great blend of the old and the new. staff is awesome and anticipates every need. our waiter at dinner was very attentive and gave us lots of tips on fun things to do downtown. when we got back from dinner the inn manager had spoken with waiter, and had already printed out directions for all the places we'd talked about visiting! and the food at terra mae? blew us away! tried branzino (a fish) for the first time, and it was phenomenal!

as the previous review said, it can be a bit noisy because of it's downtown location. but we mentioned it and were shown how to use a noise cancelling feature on the i-home radio in our room. worked great for us.

highly recommend stone fort inn and terra mae!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

StoneFort Inn is absolutely beautiful and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The restaurant downstairs, TerraMae has a great bar, very nice menu, and fantastic drink selections. However, even though our room was GORGEOUS, it was very very VERY noisy. We stayed in room #23 which overlooked the main street where the StoneFort entrance was, and we woke up every other house. We could hear the employees at TerraMae downstairs, and especially the dinner guests who had one too many drinks as they ate their meals, and especially when they left for the night. On top of that, we could hear ANYONE who came in the front door and up the stairs all night long. The floors are VERY noisy. For as much money as I spent, I was expecting more. The bed wasn't very comfy either. :( Needless to say, I was pretty disappointed, which is a bummer because this place could have a lot of potential.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room near the front of the Inn, they are very noisy, especially Room #23, which was above the restaurant. OR SAVE YOUR MONEY COMPLETELY AND STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glock19ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackiePRelations, Public Relations Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for the feedback. We regret to hear that you were bothered by the noise level. We always strive to provide a great experience for our guests and provide an urban oasis. We work toward improving on any areas where we need to focus. Our restaurant, terraMae, closes at 9 on weeknights and 10 on weekends because we do not want to disrupt anyone's rest. We're glad you found our inn beautiful and enjoyed the breakfast and drink selection. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future when you visit Chattanooga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in 2011. Went back in 2012 for our anniversary. We look forward to going back again this year! We loved the personal attention we received from the small staff. It is beautiful and charming. Breakfast is always delicious and creative. Location is great for getting around the city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJSwayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews