We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

my boyfriend and i stayed here this past weekend, and loved it! it's such a unique place. we are a bit wary of bed and breakfasts because we prefers a more professional atmosphere, but we thought this looked interesting. so glad we did! the place is gorgeous, and a great blend of the old and the new. staff is awesome and anticipates every need. our waiter at dinner was very attentive and gave us lots of tips on fun things to do downtown. when we got back from dinner the inn manager had spoken with waiter, and had already printed out directions for all the places we'd talked about visiting! and the food at terra mae? blew us away! tried branzino (a fish) for the first time, and it was phenomenal!

as the previous review said, it can be a bit noisy because of it's downtown location. but we mentioned it and were shown how to use a noise cancelling feature on the i-home radio in our room. worked great for us.

highly recommend stone fort inn and terra mae!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    98
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
339
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

StoneFort Inn is absolutely beautiful and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The restaurant downstairs, TerraMae has a great bar, very nice menu, and fantastic drink selections. However, even though our room was GORGEOUS, it was very very VERY noisy. We stayed in room #23 which overlooked the main street where the StoneFort entrance was, and we woke up every other house. We could hear the employees at TerraMae downstairs, and especially the dinner guests who had one too many drinks as they ate their meals, and especially when they left for the night. On top of that, we could hear ANYONE who came in the front door and up the stairs all night long. The floors are VERY noisy. For as much money as I spent, I was expecting more. The bed wasn't very comfy either. :( Needless to say, I was pretty disappointed, which is a bummer because this place could have a lot of potential.

Room Tip: Stay away from a room near the front of the Inn, they are very noisy, especially Room #23, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glock19ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackiePRelations, Public Relations Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. We regret to hear that you were bothered by the noise level. We always strive to provide a great experience for our guests and provide an urban oasis. We work toward improving on any areas where we need to focus. Our restaurant, terraMae, closes at 9 on weeknights and 10 on weekends because we do not want to disrupt anyone's rest. We're glad you found our inn beautiful and enjoyed the breakfast and drink selection. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future when you visit Chattanooga.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon in 2011. Went back in 2012 for our anniversary. We look forward to going back again this year! We loved the personal attention we received from the small staff. It is beautiful and charming. Breakfast is always delicious and creative. Location is great for getting around the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJSwayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
332 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at at the Stone Fort Inn. The location is great near downtown. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was very cool and we really enjoyed the furnishings and layout. The breakfast was very good and on Sunday we enjoyed their Sunday brunch. The only drawback is that the rooms are a little on the noisy side, we could hear our neighbors talking and snoring. I recommend this location if you are looking for a boutique hotel in a good location in Chattanooga.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_B52033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Stone Fort Inn several times now, for fun weekends out of town. Stone Fort is beautiful, so charming and enjoyable. It was our second anniversary, and we asked for and received a room with a king-size bed and outdoor jacuzzi tub. Making the visit even more special, Dee (one of the proprietors) brought us champagne -- very unexpected and so appreciated! We have always enjoyed our stays there. They are so gracious and do whatever they can to help. Several visits ago, they recommended eating at Tony's Italian, where the food is excellent. I can't compliment the staff enough. They do a great job. We noticed the pretty bedding and even the mattress seemed new. Everything was provided for our comfort. We will definitely return to Stone Fort. It is No. 1 in our book!! Do yourself a favor and visit!!!!!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with an outdoor jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 111Alabamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This charming little bed and breakfast was a great find! My husband and I were visiting Chattanooga for the first time and always opt to stay in a boutique hotel/B&B rather than a hotel chain. The rooms are cozy and all unique. We peeked into several of the vacant rooms since we checked in early and each one had their own personality and were well decorated. We also went to their complimentary wine and cheese hour and it was well done and delicious. The bartender on duty was especially helpful in giving us near-by restaurant and entertainment options. One thing to note: Stone Fort is a mile walk from the waterfront. My husband and I didn't mind, but it isn't necessarily close to any of the major attractions. I would highly recommend visiting the aquarium, Walnut Street Bridge, and eating at the Public House on Warehouse Row.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellastars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

It has been several months since we have stayed here but I wanted to do a review for them. We actually have stayed here many times as it is our favorite get away. You cannot beat this place! Breakfast is out of this world!!! The rooms are gorgeous and pictures do not do it justice. Beds and pillows are soft and comfortable. I can't say enough for how great this place is! Love the homemade cookies they leave out at night for you. You will NOT be disappointed !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tishalittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#30 of 97 in Chattanooga
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing