We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded all expectations !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Exceeded all expectations !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's; and the Stone Fort Inn has, by far, been the best. The staff is top notch and truly go above and beyond for their guest. A special thanks to Justin for the excellent hospitality and overwhelming kindness.

Also, we ate at the Terra Mae restaurant; great food, atmosphere and service. I recommend the Stone Fort Inn over any hotel or B&B!

Great experience !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcldaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    97
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
336
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay in a B&B/boutique hotel and we enjoyed it with a few minor issues. We stayed in room 30, top floor, exclusive balcony room. While we loved the size of the room, it needs some updating. The bed was comfortable but needs new bedding. The closet smelled strongly of moth balls so we didn't use it. Just FYI there is no refrigerator and no coffee maker in the room. Someone mentioned a robe in their room but I don't know if that is standard because there was no robe in our room. The hotel itself was quiet. It seemed as though we had it to ourselves. The employees were all helpful. Our favorite part of staying at the Inn was the delicious express breakfast. It was fabulous!! The selection wasn't huge but there was enough to make it a great breakfast: fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, cereal, croissants, biscuits, gravy, potatoes, bacon, and eggs cooked to order. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crissycurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I won a night's stay at Stone Fort Inn. It was a very relaxing and pleasant stay. Just the right location to see the downtown sights but on a quiet street. Amazing historic inn were to character. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay at your inn. My husband and I had an amazing getaway to celebrate our 10 year anniversary! The weekend breakfast is amazing and the staff are very friendly. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this is it! Perfect location and atmosphere!Highly recommend the Stone Fort Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was the southern leg of a trip that started in Chicago, and we decided to stay at a smaller property and to check out the look and feel of this Inn after having been recommended by a friend. We came away very pleased and pleasantly surprised at the wonderful atmosphere and the creaky floors and the whole character of the establishment. If you can picture this old inn which has been renovated and then picture great employees who go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable, then picture a wonderful restaurant on the first floor with the city right outside the front door--well, then, that's a pretty accurate description. It was just a fun place to stay. I had read some of the other reviewers but thought they were harsh. This place cannot be impeccable just because it was built in 1909, but it's pretty close--and like I said, it's perfectly cool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is top notch. They welcomed us with valet service and a handshake personal greeting. They had a wine and cheese hour going on when we arrived with piano accompaniment which was lovely. Our room was amazing. 4 poster Victorian bedding with a huge bathroom, shower and claw foot tub. Then to our surprise, a huge tub for two on the BALCONY! Yes, closed off for utmost privacy. Terramae restaurant is just downstairs for great fine dining and the strawberry/creams cheese croissants are divine for breakfast . Location is within 2 blocks of anything you want to do so walking is easy . I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. I have a new love

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through Tennessee and were pleasantly surprised. It looks somewhat out of place in it's location in the city but it is a beautifully restored boutique hotel with a unique charm. Our room was huge and very comfortable with a small veranda and a small sitting area. Bed was a little soft for my liking but that can be a personal thing. Creaky floors and antique furniture just add to the overall impression. The buffet breakfast was outstanding with plenty of selection and variety

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing