We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, Personable, and Perfectly Cool!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant, Personable, and Perfectly Cool!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was the southern leg of a trip that started in Chicago, and we decided to stay at a smaller property and to check out the look and feel of this Inn after having been recommended by a friend. We came away very pleased and pleasantly surprised at the wonderful atmosphere and the creaky floors and the whole character of the establishment. If you can picture this old inn which has been renovated and then picture great employees who go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable, then picture a wonderful restaurant on the first floor with the city right outside the front door--well, then, that's a pretty accurate description. It was just a fun place to stay. I had read some of the other reviewers but thought they were harsh. This place cannot be impeccable just because it was built in 1909, but it's pretty close--and like I said, it's perfectly cool!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    96
    40
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
332
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nashville
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this place is top notch. They welcomed us with valet service and a handshake personal greeting. They had a wine and cheese hour going on when we arrived with piano accompaniment which was lovely. Our room was amazing. 4 poster Victorian bedding with a huge bathroom, shower and claw foot tub. Then to our surprise, a huge tub for two on the BALCONY! Yes, closed off for utmost privacy. Terramae restaurant is just downstairs for great fine dining and the strawberry/creams cheese croissants are divine for breakfast . Location is within 2 blocks of anything you want to do so walking is easy . I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. I have a new love

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through Tennessee and were pleasantly surprised. It looks somewhat out of place in it's location in the city but it is a beautifully restored boutique hotel with a unique charm. Our room was huge and very comfortable with a small veranda and a small sitting area. Bed was a little soft for my liking but that can be a personal thing. Creaky floors and antique furniture just add to the overall impression. The buffet breakfast was outstanding with plenty of selection and variety

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkin07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding with an entire wedding party, extended family etc. I believe
We took up the whole hotel. What a great experience! Excellent service especially at the restaurants downstairs! I don't think I made it down for the scheduled breakfast once and when I went downstairs and asked food options someone went into the fridge and pulled out leftovers for me. They just provided such an amazing personal touch that is so absent in the service industry today.

Rooms are quite large actually! They do vary quite a bit. I had your basic queen bed with all the normal amenities but I saw everything from fireplaces, tubs on balconies, large sitting rooms attached to the bedrooms etc. They had everything. The floors and beds are a little but that's something that normally bothers me and it did not here. It's kind of all part of the charm.

Room Tip: Do research on specifics of each room. Since I was here with a large group it was selected for me bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed here with my wife on several occasions using her name and address, and recently, felt compelled to write about the Inn. This Inn is charming, unique, very clean, spacious, does have creaky floors, has a great restaurant, has wonderfully charming employees who work tirelessly to make everyone's stay enjoyable, and is the best value in small boutique Inns anywhere that I have traveled! I just have stayed here enough times to know that this Inn is clean and comfortable with a historical look and feel. I like both floors -2 and 3--as the lobby and restaurant are on the first floor. The renovation has been tastefully done, and there is a new seating area just off the lobby that is perfect! Parking is convenient, and the breakfasts are ample and equally pleasing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed here after learning about this Inn from eating at TerraMae from a previous visit to Chattanooga, and gave it a try. I found the Inn to be super clean and well maintained. The room has historic signifigance but was not expecting the Taj Mahal. I was pleased, traveling alone on this trip. The baths were spacious and clean, Plenty of good light to put on make up and there was a Robe, an Iron, and a hairdryer, all standard amenities, but nevertheless unexpected. The flat screen Tvs and the fast wifi was perfect for my needs. I love the restaurant. I will come back and recommend to my friends and co workers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I like B&B's because we like the adventure of finding character and unique and the Stone Fort Inn did not disappoint.

It is in an old building in the business district, close to the electric shuttle, walking distance to the downtown attractions and lots of restaurants and so full of character. The floors are the original hardwood and creek with every step and are even a little slanted in spots. The renovations were done to show the original brick walls throughout.

The breakfasts were wonderful, staff very attentive and helpful.

Parking was limited but they have a fenced parking lot across the street that is very easy to get to and from.

If you love the adventure of an unusual find you will love the Stone Fort Inn. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttsctravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing