We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unpleasant experience at the Stone Fort Inn May 4/5, 2013”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, MD
2 reviews
“Unpleasant experience at the Stone Fort Inn May 4/5, 2013”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Stone Fort Inn on Friday, May 4, 2013. We were met curbside by a valet who took our car keys and parked our car out of our sight in a designated parking lot. We had chosen a room on the third floor to limit the noise. Unfortunately, there was a street concert a few blocks away with music booming forth into the evening. If you choose to stay at this Inn, ask for a room toward the back.
The bathroom features a jacuzzi tub. Unfortunately for the bather there is a window above the tub looking out over the street and across to a facing building. There is a clear view into the bathroom from the building across the street. This makes for an uncomfortable bathing situation.
We spent an uneven night with the noise and got up early to leave. When we went downstairs there was no one at the reception desk. My husband found a chef in the kitchen...the only person in sight... and we asked if he could find our car keys. He tried but he could not locate the keys to our car.
We called the two phone numbers posted by the front door and left messages. This went on for over an hour. The chef tried as well and had no luck either. We could not leave the Inn.
We finally got our keys around 8:45am. Totally frustrated and absolutely disappointed in the lack of professional management of this property. We fled the Stone Fort Inn.
We followed up with an email when we returned home from our trip. It took a few days but we have received an apology and we've been informed that our poor experience has caused them to institute some new policies and procedures.
This Inn had a sign that listed it as a Diamond level Inn. I truly do not think this Inn merits that status. I do not feel these folks are truly invested in their property or someone would have been available by phone and no one would have mismanaged our car keys to begin with.
One of the most important parts of hospitality is not interfering with your guests' mobility. We had every right to expect to be able to leave at 7:20am on a Saturday morning. I would not recommend this Inn to a friend. We should have been credited back our night's stay and even offered a future stay on them. An apologetic email that explains how they are going to improve their service after learning from the mistakes made is hardly good business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMitchellCHA, General Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We offer our deepest apologies that you did not see the Inn at its best, and that we did not meet the high standards we set for ourselves to offer our guests the best possible hospitality. Your stay happened to fall on the first night we offered our new valet service. While we have had great response to our valet service overall from customers, we were disappointed to have heard about your experience. We greatly thank you for the email and as we mentioned in our email response to you – we have made several improvements to the process based on your comments. But we hope you enjoyed your weekend wine and cheese hour as well as our gourmet weekend breakfast before your departure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    98
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
338
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The inn was very clean and in a great location. We loved the historical feel and the decor, however, our room was facing the front of the building. The lights from the outside and the light that came in under the door were so bright that we had a hard time sleeping. The employees were very nice and helpful, but we were there during two weekdays and felt that the breakfasts were just average. The inn had been highly recommended to us and we were a little disappointed. We thought it was good but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryT216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMitchellCHA, General Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We are glad to hear that the staff and location pleased you. We love being right downtown and getting to share everything this city has to offer with our guests. We are sorry we didn't “wow” you with breakfast. We offer a step above the continental breakfast offered at nearby chain hotels, by
including an egg dish and offering made-to-order options a la carte. It is always our goal for each and every guest to have a spectacular stay. We apologize for not hitting that mark for you, but encourage you to come back to StoneFort in the future, perhaps for a Friday or Saturday night stay when we offer complimentary wine and cheese to hotel guests. We would love to show you just how fantastic at stay at StoneFort can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I don't see how anyone could complain about this property. Gorgeous building - creaky floorboards add to the charm. Staff are exceptionally friendly and the breakfast in the morning was first class. As two Australians travelling across the south, this place gives Southeners a terrific reputation. Highly recommend. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spliced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The inn was charming and had a lot of history. I really like the fact the inn was within walking distance to downtown. The staff were very friendly. My only real complaint would be the bed. I think it was an old relic from the Civil War...very worn out.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashitabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had heard about this place from some friends in Knoxville, and they had loved it, so we tried it out on a short trip to Chattanooga. We just fell in love with this historic inn that meets the modern world so well! The owner we hear is from Nashville, and he has done a terrific job with the whole Inn, including putting in a great restaurant on the first floor. We would much rather have the full service bar and restaurant on the first floor than the boring sitting rooms that others have complained about! Come on, get a life! The Inn has great flat screen Tvs, great fast internet service, and parking is very convenient! The rooms were VERY CLEAN and the bathrooms SPOTLESS AND LARGE! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We drove down from Springfield, TN and decided to stay here after visting TA and reading the other reviews. We typically like to stay in the non chain hotels and we prefer staying not really in B and B's as much as just the smaller Inns or the really nice Inns. This one definitely qualifies for both. Its definitely not over the top (like a 5 star) but it's really well done and it fits the description of a well run, historical feeling, modern, yet appropriately renovated and well appointed Inn.
We thought the people were friendly and the location was great. Everything was superb. We will be back this summer! Thanks for a job well done! And by the way--the parking is not a problem and the Inn was VERY CLEAN!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Clemens, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

More of a boutique type Hotel then a B&B. Although they serve up a great breakfast.
Rooms are neat and clean. Personnel are all very pleasant.
Food and drinks are excellent. Chef and bartender are very creative and offer some excellent choices prepared extremely well.
Walking to many of the area attractions is very easy from this location.

Room Tip: We had an Exclusive Balcony Room with a balcony overlooking a parking lot and a view of some local b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorSC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#6 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#18 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing