We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay at the Stone Fort Inn”
Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay at the Stone Fort Inn”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were passing through Chattanooga in December, and we love to stay at a B & B. Their website promised a stay at a historical inn with a restaurant opening right before our stay. The photos on the website were entirely accurate and not misleading. My husband and I stayed in a queen fireplace suite, and loved every minute of it. The restaurant was as good and any we've eaten in in much larger cities. I can't say enough about the wonderful service we received. We had a car packed with Christmas presents that we felt needed to come into our room, and several of the staff, including the bartender, helped us carry them all in and up the stairs! We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy061_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    98
    42
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
340
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a two night stay for my husbands 40th birthday. The decor was very french country and service was complete with southern hospitality.
the floors are creaky and warped, there is no heat in the bathroom and there's exposed piping in the ceiling...and I loved every bit of it!
I can't say enough about the kindness and helpfulness of the staff.
The only downfall was the noisy fans outside the federal building across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice old feel and good food, but this Inn lacked any semblance of service. On several days our bed wasn't even made. There is a slightly offsite parking spot free to guests, but in order to use you need to borrow a key card from the front desk- IF you are lucky enough to find someone there. There wasn't even anyone available to check us out in the morning or late us in late in the evening.

There are, on the bright side, lovely huge tubs. Being your own bubbles as none are provided.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estrella49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMitchellCHA, Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We apologize that the service was not all you had hoped. In the past, we did not have a staff member manning the front desk after 10PM, as is the case with many bed and breakfasts. However, new policies are being implemented at StoneFort that will increase the staff availability for the greater comfort and convenience of our guests. As for the parking situation, we are a small boutique inn located in the heart of a bustling, growing city. While this does mean parking wasn't designed as part of the Inn, it does mean that the inn is very pedestrian friendly. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and food at TerraMae. The restaurant is newly renovated and has a brand new staff, and it's great to hear our guests enjoyed it right from the starting gate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Loved the Stone Fort Inn. Celebrated for our 20th anniversary. Great breakfast. Innkeeper was extremely helpful and nice. Only concern, you may lose your parking place if you leave at night when the restuarant is open.

Room Tip: Go with the Queen Suite. It has a fireplace in a seperate sitting room. Rooms 31 & 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Had an excellent stay, excellent service, excellent room.. could not have asked for a better stay, the resturant the room and the innkeepers were excellent.. we will be back, stayed for 2 nights and both nights were excellent, located downtown and in the middle of everything, booked a less expensive room and got an upgrade apon arrival.. Best group of people..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had an amazing stay this weekend at the Stonefort Inn in Chattanooga. It started off rocky because the special private balcony room with a hot tub that I had booked for our 10 year anniversary was not available due to rennovations. However that staff there and innkeeper (Dee and James) went above and beyond to make amends and make sure that our stay was wonderful. To find such hospitality these days is a rare gem and we will definitely be returning.
The inn and rooms theirself were beautiful and elegantly decorated. The bed was very soft and comfortable. Our room had a beautiful clawfoot tub along with a walk in shower. It was a short walking distance to many restaurants as well as the Riverfront area.
The breakfast buffet was delicious and had a wide variety from french toast to gravy and biscuits.
I would highly recommend for a relaxing and romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsmith588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed at the Stone Fort inn about 5 years ago and it was lovely. My husband and I decided to go back for our 20th anniversary. We actually got the same room we had before! The website clearly let us know they were 'under construction' and so we were ok with that. The front lobby areas and the restaurant were obviously bare and being worked on but there was no noise. Once in our room, we noticed it was a little shabby. The major things - bed, furniture, TV were all clean and well cared for but there were little things all over the room that lacked attention. We had a private balcony and when we stepped out the first thing was an ashtray on the little table full of cigarette butts. Then, in the bathroom, the white tile was broken and missing in places and just sort of dirty gray all over. There was no full length mirror for dressing and the one little mirror in the bathroom was dirty with toothpaste platter and dust. The large, two person tub was showing age too. While it looked clean, once I was in it I noticed crusted dirt in the jets - yuck. There was no bubble bath like you might expect in a place that openly advertises it's two-person tubs. I used the tiny little shampoo bottle to get a few suds, which left me with no shampoo in the morning. The shower was just dirty. There was mold and little dirt stains all over the inside of the curtain and there is only one tiny little soap holder but no place to put your shampoo (if I had had any) or razor etc... When I tried to get ready, there was no where to place cosmetics or a hair dryer or a straight iron etc...it was just a tiny sink with a small rim. The bed was enormous and very soft - tons of blankets and pillows - all very nice.
The gourmet breakfast didn't really come off too well because of the construction - it was sort of impromptu without much planning - buffet style with cold biscuits and nothing to drink but coffee until we were almost done and then some juice was put out. And, the last thing was that you could hear EVERYTHING that was going on in the other rooms. It made me very uncomfortable. I even decided not to take another bath for fear that the water running would wake up all of my neighbors. Overall, we still had a good evening and enjoyed our stay, but the inn needs some major updating and a new cleaning staff. I would expect higher quality spa-like shampoos and amenities in a place like this as well. So, I gave it an average, but I probably won't go back. Too bad - it has a lot of potential to be a really beautiful place like it once was.

Room Tip: No tips - private balcony room is large and nice with two person tub and little balcony overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsmac1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse46, Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We apologize that your trip wasn't as satisfying as you had hoped. Thank you for writing to let us know! We are in the process of redecorating the guestrooms, and also renovating the restaurant space downstairs for a new bistro. However, that should not affect the housekeeping or overall quality of the rooms. We wish you had let us know the room was not all you hoped it would be so that we could have remedied any problems, or offered you a different room. There is always someone at the desk to attend to guests’ needs until 10 PM, after which the inn keeper can be reached by phone.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the bed and linens—they are all recently purchased and we are happy to hear you were pleased with these features. We do our utmost to go above and beyond to help our guests have the perfect stay. As for your disappointment with breakfast, it has indeed been a transitional period. However, our kitchen staff would have been more than happy to bring you juice or whatever else was available to improve the quality of your dining experience. I am very sorry that you didn't tell us of your frustrations while we were in a position to better resolve them.

Our Inn is a grand old beauty, and part of its charm comes from the history and authenticity that comes with age. We are very sorry you felt uncomfortable due to the perceived issue of sound carrying, and once again we would have been happy to work with you to resolve your discomfort. You sound like kind and accommodating people, which are wonderful qualities to have. Our only regret is that you were so accommodating that we did not have the opportunity to improve your StoneFort experience. It’s our mission to provide each and every guest at the Inn with the best stay possible. I hope that you do give us another chance. Our restaurant renovations have been completed in time for their grand opening this month, and we will be continuing to upgrade rooms throughout 2013, as part of our continued efforts to give our guests the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#7 of 97 in Chattanooga
1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#14 of 97 in Chattanooga
949 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Chattanooga Downtown
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
Courtyard Chattanooga Downtown
#28 of 97 in Chattanooga
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing