We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absoultely wonderful place for wedding reception!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dwell Hotel
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Absoultely wonderful place for wedding reception!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

In early August 2011 my niece had her wedding reception at the Stone Fort Inn. We could not have asked for a better place! The set-up was beautiful - so many wonderful personal touches they provided. The staff was superb and the food they served was not only delicious, but was elegantly portrayed on each and every plate!

The sound system they let her utilize was wonderful and provided a great environment for them to cut loose and dance as the night went on.

I highly recomment the Stone Fort Inn for a wedding reception. It was a wonderful place and I just can't say enough about the staff! They were so accommodating and were genuine in their concern that her day was perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanHoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    96
    41
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
336
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a beautiful place with friendly people, full of gorgeous antique furniture. I regret not having time to sit downstairs to enjoy the atmosphere. The breakfast buffet was delicious & had lots of variety. The suite was lovely, my favorite part was the jacuzzi tub! They also had a beautiful, spacious tile shower that I wish was in my home! The bed was comfortable & soft. I only disliked 2 things about it: the bed was squeaky & the walls are thin. My advice, for a romantic stay, bring some mood music :-) I enjoyed my stay & if I ever return, I will more than likely stay here again (if my funds will permit)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife and I decided to go to Chattanooga after Hurricane Irene prevented us from going to NYC and picked the Stone Fort for a two-night stay. This Inn is great and the staff is wonderful. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the bathrooms are large with a jacuzzi in each. The breakfast is well -prepared and professionally presented. Downtown Chattanooga's riverfront is exceptional with the Northshore shopping and restaurants terrific. We stayed in Room 20 and it has a small refrigerator and balcony.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessed1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Our stay at Stonefort Inn was icing on the cake for our 2 day visit to Chattanooga. The
101 year old Inn was charming, authentic, luxurious and extremely comfortable. There are many rooms to choose from, some with balconies, cheerfully painted and each appointed with comforting antiques, yet modern plumbing. Bryan and the staff including James and Dee were most helpful in suggesting great restaurants and things to do. Weekday breakfasts included fresh fruit and yogurt, flakey croissants, homemade white chocolate/ berry scones and always a choice of either eggs and bacon or quiche of the day. We heard that Bryan 's weekend breakfast fare is not to be missed, but alas, we had to hit the road.

Room Tip: The Inn's website is an accurate account of what rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Once again, TripAdvisor came through with customer-satisfaction based reviews. I always go to TripAdvisor first when planning an excusion, and the reviews for the Stone Fort Inn were spot on. This lovely old hotel is so special. My husband commented that he could picture antebellum women descending the stairway in their hoop skirts! The rooms are beautiful and the bathrooms are outfitted with fantastic towels and nice Aveda supplies. Every detail, from the cookies set out in the evening, to the delicacies on the weekend brunch buffet, were amazing! I highly recommend the Stone Fort Inn.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, which offered a quiet secluded location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Stone Fort Inn is a quaint bed and breakfast. My wife and I stayed one weekend night as a getaway from the kids. We were in Room 25 and the accommodations were fairly good.
Pros - Large room, jacuzzi on the balcony, bedding was comfortable. We ordered Sunday morning breakfast delivered to our room and it was excellent. Everyone at the Inn are very kind.
Cons - The balcony is a bit mis- leading, there isn't a view at all and it's small. The actual mattress wasn't comfortable and the bed was very squeaky; and the a/c unit leaked.

Not sure we will go back, but it was worth trying it out versus staying at the same ol' hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tskstaplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

After reading so many positive reviews about this Inn, I picked it for a one day one night visit to chatanooga with my husband. We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts and small inns both in the US and abroad. This place left much to be desired. First of all the parking situation is a problem. You need to pull up to the front door,.give them your bags, get a parking pass and drive around the block to park. You then need to turn in the parking pass because they don't have enough to let you keep it while you are there. So each time you need to park your car you need to go through this routine...rather inconvenient.
The bed was very soft and not comfortable. I felt like I was sleeping on a mushy pillow.
It would have been nice to have at least one small baggage stool for us to open up our
suitcase. Finally this place is very overpriced for what you get.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30. We had to close the bathroom door so the light from outside wouldn't shine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaClaudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greathouse46, Manager at The Dwell Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
We’re very sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We work very hard to make sure every guest is more than satisfied with their experience at the Inn.

Our parking is secure (requiring a pass) and just a brief one block walk from the front door. I think this is comparable in time to most downtown parking situations which are either in an associated parking garage or nearby lot. We always do whatever is necessary to make sure baggage handling is not burdensome, typically assisting curbside, right at the front door. Many people consider this appealing.

Bed firmness is a very personal issue and most of our guests believe our bedding is quite comfortable as you can see from the majority of our reviews. I’m sorry it did not suit you.

Not all of our rooms have baggage carts but we do have a large desk that is often used for that purpose in the room.

Finally, our pricing is very comparable to similar properties in downtown Chattanooga and we offer a personal experience not to be found in most Inns or hotels. We always try to do whatever is possible to ensure a wonderful experience. Our 100 year old Inn is filled with charm and grace and many wonderful amenities. It seems as if the stars were just not aligned properly to allow you to enjoy them.

We’re disappointed that you found things disappointing enough to give us such a poor rating. I guess even when you try your best, it is not always possible to please everyone. We are thankful that most of our guest consider our Inn and service a great experience.

James Greathouse, Inn Keeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.2 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
0.3 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#13 of 96 in Chattanooga
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
Days Inn Chattanooga-Rivergate
#19 of 96 in Chattanooga
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dwell Hotel

Property: The Dwell Hotel
Address: 120 E 10th St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-4227 (Formerly Stone Fort Inn)
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury At Your Leisure The Dwell Hotel is a boutique hotel on the corner of 10th Street and Columbia, where lively meets luxury, and high class meets high comfort. Our rooms are retro reimagined, and our service is hospitality redefined. With TerraMáe's world-class cuisine and Matilda Midnight's starlit cocktails, a stay at The Dwell Hotel is the kind of getaway you will not forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Fort Inn Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing