We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A safe, clean, and beautiful place to walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walnut Street Bridge

Walnut Street Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.95*
and up
Haunted Walking Tour of Chattanooga
Ranked #3 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the finest examples of the Phoenix wrought-iron truss bridges that were build between 1884 and 1923.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
641 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“A safe, clean, and beautiful place to walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a highlight of our weekend in Chattanooga. Seeing the sights on each side of the Tennessee River was breathtaking. The best part? It's free! The aquarium and restaurants are on one side and a park, restaurants, and shops are on the other side of the river.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melaney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,271
    418
    81
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It's A Bridge, But A Very Cool Bridge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

So why would we want to review a bridge? Well, this one is worth talking about. It shows the city's commitment to its people - a way to get some good exercise, walk the dogs, meet friends or just wander and think great thoughts. It's wide, provides a great view of the city and the mountain as it ties together the North and South sides of the Tennessee River. It's down by all the museums and funky shops. Yeah, its a bridge but its a cool bridge.

Helpful?
Thank TallTVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulaski, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a walking bridge over the Tennessee River. My husband and I love to to walk it at night . It is a great experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Park on Northshore, walk to Southshore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The best way to experience downtown Chattanooga - park on the north side of the river where parking is easier and cheaper, if not free, and walk across the bridge to the heart of downtown. Forget the meters, garages, and stressful parking on the south side. The bridge is a nice walk with nice views.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geography_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not Sure What All the Hype is About”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

It seems odd that this bridge is such a highly-rated attraction in Chattanooga. It's a nice place to walk if the weather is good, with some pretty views of the river, but I'm not sure I would go out of my way to see it. If I lived in Chattanooga, I would probably use it as a regular walking place, but it's really nothing special if you're visiting the city. It's great that the city opted to restore it for use as a pedestrian bridge, but it really is better suited for those who live in Chattanooga; it's refreshing that the city did something like this for residents, and not just for visitors!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Timandfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walnut Street Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Street Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing