We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flavor packed food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe

Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe
Ranked #56 of 822 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Taziki's is located downtown with a great view of Market Street and patio seating is available. We offer a refreshing break from the typical with flavors inspired by the Mediterranean, highlighted by simple ingredients, fresh grilled meats, original sauces and healthy sides. We provide a relaxed atmosphere for business lunches and entertaining clients. We have fresh and healthy catering available any day of the week.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Flavor packed food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This simple unassuming space in downtown Chattanooga, where you order food at a counter, packs a wallop of flavor. The menu offers a wide variety of Mediterranean options from traditional appetizers like hummus and dolmades to gyros and char grilled lamb. Other items that aren’t straight forward Mediterranean are given touches like taziki sauce, feta cheese or Mediterranean seasonings.

We got the grilled lamb gyro and grilled tilapia with Mediterranean seasonings. Both were excellent. The balance of taziki sauce, tomatoes, lettuce and grilled onion in the gyro was perfect. The side tomato cucumber salad had both Southern and Mediterranean influences. My only complaint was that the gyro came with potato chips when the dish begged for something healthier. The grilled tilapia was nicely seasoned and tender and served over basmati rice. It came with a Greek salad.

Best of all, it’s reasonably priced. Taziki’s adds to Chattanooga’s reputation for restaurants with good food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    70
    21
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Wanted something light to eat and was not disappointed. The fish tacos were so good. Service was friendly and helpful. We will be back when in town!

Helpful?
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prices, Great Service,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

A refreshing new idea to fast food. I love the healthy choices along with the great prices. The homemade pimento cheese is one of the best of ever had. The service was NOT fast food service, but more like a upscale restaurant, the manager even came by the table to ask how everything was, and thanked us for coming in. A great place to receive wonderful food and even a glass a wine with your meal. We will totally be making this a regular place for us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
640 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean and location too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

A wonderful place for Mediterranean food. I do not eat this often so it was a treat and very good. I had the lamb gyro and a side of cucumber, tomato salad topped with feta and balsamic dressing. Atmosphere is a little sparse but enjoyable, modern, and eclectic. Service is incredibly fast and friendly. Food is also worth the stop, especially at great prices and selection for both sandwiches and sides. The best part of my meal was - believe it or not- the warm pita bread wrap that tasted homemade and very fresh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh food fast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Taziki's is a newer restaurant in our area and as we arrived, we noticed several people getting carry out bags. The restaurant is sparsely decorated and we were greeted promptly and invited to select our own table. The menus at the table have a selection of sandwiches, salads and entrees and I chose the pork tenderloin. You order and pay at a counter and our food arrived in about 15 minutes. My entrée came with asparagus and a salad, potatoes and a two dressings. I thought it was a lot of food for $10.99. The first tenderloin was a bit tough, but the other two were nice. The salad was fresh and colorful. I enjoyed the entire meal. This is a casual restaurant that appeals to people interested in quality food. I plan on coming here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yortakire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taziki's Mediterranean Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing