We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappoints a three year old” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR)

Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR)
Ranked #8 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest operating historic railroads in the United States offers scenic trips through the Tennessee countryside.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappoints a three year old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We boarded the train and it began to move ever so slowly and my three year old grandson wanted to know when it would be going fast. This train ride was a disappointment for both of us. The 3 mile ride just was not long enough for either of us and moved too slowly for both of us. Next time we will take a longer ride and hope for more speed.

Although I must say my three year old grandson looked forward to having his ticket punched by the conductor.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank payneblanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    268
    85
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We took the Oneida ride and we really enjoyed it. The car we were in was clean, the seats large and comfortable and well upholstered. The volunteers were friendly, efficient and helpful. The train was in much better condition than some we've ridden in other areas, and is due in part to the fact that the the Norfolk-Southern Railway contributes to it. The steam locomotive was not ready for use, so Norfolk-Southern provided one of their heritage locomotives and engineers. My thought is that the train is better maintained and safer than some others I've ridden, and I would think that is due to the fact it operates on active tracks and must meet higher standards than some others.

There was a commissary car (an old US Army car) that offered snacks and decent coffee. The lunch was excellent, and again the staff was great. We will probably return next Spring.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OldDog58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We love trains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We did the Onieda excursion. What a great trip! Our car host was so knowledgable and friendly. Always making sure we were all happy. What agreat way to experience history.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlaQuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Every Little Boy and Big Boy's Dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We went at the end of March to one of their train stops and that station was closed (seasonal). But at the main station (Grand Junction Station) the train was up and running. The train runs at different times during the season. So if you are planning on riding the train, look ahead for times and which station to go too.
This was still fun for my boys. We walk around the train area and look at old and newer trains. This station had a restroom (that help). It was FREE to just walk around but to ride the train there is a fee. There were men there working on a train, it was moving to different places, they loved that.
We did not ride on the train. But it was fun to walk around and my boys were in-love.
Go to their website or call so you go to the right station that is up and working during the time you go. www.tvrail.com 423-894-8028

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Riding the rails in Tennessee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spring excursion train leaving from Chattanooga,TN too Oneida Tennessee with a meal. This is a great excursion trip for the entire family and rail fans. Excellent service and the breakfast was excellent. What more could you ask for eating and watching the Tennessee country side roll by.
The trip is approximately 135 miles one way and traveling at 40mph it take 3 hours. We pulled into Oneida Tennessee and this sleepy little town had a festival at trackside. Blue Grass Music ~ BBQ ~ Arts & Crafts ~ and a car show plus loads of entertainment for the little one. A small train pulled the children around in the parking area. The adults had a horse drawn carriage too ride. We were greeted by I think the major of the town with a firm hand shake and " Welcome too Oneida Tennessee all 350 that rode the train. And again when we left another firm heart felt hand shake and a Big Thank You.. all along the whole route up and back well wishers waving and holding signs . The only negative item was this train was supposed too be pulled by the "Ole #630 Steam Locomotive and just before the trip every one got a notice it was not ready for service. Tennessee Valley Rail Road did a restoration on the locomotive and unfortunately it was not ready for service. Tennessee Valley Railroad sent out 2 separate emails with this notice. This excursion train was pulled by a Heritage Locomotive painted in Green & White. NS 8099. Norfolk & Sothern a GE ES44AC Train NS957 for the rail fan.
If you plan to ride book as soon as possible these long excursion trains with meals and different seating accommodations fill up quick. Next long excursion will be in October -November for the fall run too Oneida Tennessee and hopefully this time will be pulled by a steam locomotive. It was a good 9 plus hour day up and back. The train runs on the main line and with safety concerns they have too maintain a distance between trains. The staff and kitchen crew did a excellent job. The Tennessee Valley Museum in Chattanooga is very easy too get to route TN 153 just west of I-75. Plus it's the largest Train museum in the South East and it does a have a dedicated toy train museum..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR) also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing