We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast”

Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR)
Ranked #11 of 148 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest operating historic railroads in the United States offers scenic trips through the Tennessee countryside.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a blast”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Short, inexpensive ride that everyone enjoyed! Was even able to ride on the back of the train and feel the wind in your hair. Kids had a blast... as did the adults!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CydR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    287
    92
    34
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Good experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice. Good glance at a period of history. We enjoyed our visit and will do it again. Great for kids.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The train was set up nicely and was certainly comfortable, as you could get up and move around as needed. The trip itself was a very slow ride but my biggest complaint was the scenery. I really expected more and was disappointed and ended up quite bored on the return trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where is it?”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our Garmin gave more than one address for the TVR. We finally found a place with some rolling stock, sort of in the boonies. There wasn't much of anything open, but someone told us it was OK to look around. The old locomotives were interesting. The station and gift shop were closed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful time”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Came for the Day Out with Thomas. The weather was terrible, cold/rainy but we still managed to have a wonderful time. They had tents set up and some indoor activities. Kids age 4 and 2 really enjoyed it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR) also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing