We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a group of dedicated volunteers!”

Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR)
Ranked #9 of 149 things to do in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the largest operating historic railroads in the United States offers scenic trips through the Tennessee countryside.
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a group of dedicated volunteers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Took the Missionary Ridge trip which is just long enough as far as I'm concerned. We had a great guide with interesting history. Got off to see the turntable at work and made a visit to the repair shop -- interesting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    273
    90
    33
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Michigan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Strangely empty.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

My experience was nearly identical to the reviewer's below mine. Although I visited this place almost a year ago, it seems nothing has changed. There are several older steam locomotives in various states of disrepair to see, and it cost nothing to look at them, but there wasn't much else to do. The depot was also closed the day I went and what of it I did see was not very impressive.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gr8_times4_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
241 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Ghost town, not impressed at all!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stopped there just a few days ago, during the week, maybe it is busier on the weekends, but it was a ghost town. No workers approached us, the depot was closed, gift "shops" were tents and seemed empty. They did have train cars for a person to see, but that was about it. With so few people around I had doubts whether a train ride was really possible or not.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank michigander311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Senior Adult trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is an awesome adventure and all my seniors could say was - they wished it had lasted longer! The leader (looks like Santa!) who does the talking is fabulous and the whole train ride and the turntable are amazing. Well worth a trip!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pirategirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Not really inspiring but kids would like it. Not many of these old trains left.

Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR) also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Valley Railroad (TVR)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing