We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff could care less”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chattanooga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Came here to stay for a week to see some attractions. Bad storms came through and staff of teenagers never even checked to see if people were OK. Speed limit of 20 mph is never enforced, the staff race in and out as well as the seasonal campers so watch your kids.Church groups go into caverns and come out dirty so they destroy the bathrooms which are very rarely cleaned. Some stall personnel have a bad attitude or maybe they just don't care.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flhtc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 206 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

Well to start off we reserved a campsite for our 34 foot rv and when we drove here from alabama they told us that we would have to have a different site because they let someone else have ours. i did not think this would be a problem ... untill we found out it was the site directly in front of the camp office. when we "tried" to level the rv we had the front wheels 2 feet off the ground and still did not have it leveled because the site was sloped so bad. the kids were literally having to crawl up the steps (as did us adults) because the front end was so high off the ground. the pool has no set hours so you never know when it is open or closed. after we repeatedly told the little boy working in the office that we wanted a different site he sent us on a run around to sites that already had people on them. we finally got another site and when we hooked everything up it only has 30 amp service so we keep tripping breakers. some people are allowed to let thier dogs run loose and bark and bite at peoples heals as they walk past. the bath houses look nice BUT its one of those things where you must be 4 feet tall and UNDER to use. the staff or "CHILDREN" rather drive golf carts around the park and act like they are in the indy 500. oh and lets not forget the infamous "fire ring" it is made of a car rim and consider yourself lucky if you actually have one and you are extemely lucky if you dont catch your neighbors rv or your own on fire because the camp sites are so close together... the so called basket ball court is a goal attached to a power pole in the middle of a driveway. overall this place was very misleading and unorganized...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank livinlife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was my families' second stay in the campground at Raccoon Mountain. The scenery is beautiful and most of the grounds are very well kept. The surrounding mountains are gorgeous. My family took one of the 4 hous caving expeditions while staying in the campground. It was a great family bonding experience. I would recommend that if you take one of the longer cave tours, make sure you stay close to the guides. It's dark and if your'e in the back of the pack, it's tough to know how to get to where the group went without someone showing you where to climb/crawl etc. Prepare to get VERY muddy and wet. All in all, a great stay with beautiful scenery. We will camp heremany times to come.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

I didn't have any complaints. Very clean, grass cut and kept up. Easy on and off to Chattanooga. If I had one complaint. I would think the pool could use more chairs/chases.But the pool was kept clean, Just old. The bathhouse was very nice. Could use more only 3 bathhouses that I saw. All in all a very nice campground. Great time.!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrimpchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed here for 10 days while visiting the area attractions. We reserved our site months in advance and yet when we pulled in during a rainstorm we were sent to a primitive tent site with our RV. Eventually after a second move they did find a site for us on our third move. Some of the washers and dryers did not work and the pool needed maintenance work. Only 2 small trash cans provided for our section of the campground so it was always overflowing. Very crowded while we were there during Riverbend. Sites are extremely close together and staff not particularly friendly. Find a state park in the area and you will be more satisfied as a camper.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happycamper34948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We were at this campground about 18 years ago and remembered it fondly so when we were planning our trip last year to the States, we knew we wanted to visit Chatanooga area again with our children. This campground is ideally situated for all the area's many attractions...we love Ruby Falls and Rock City ROCKS!! The campground is fab...friendly service...loved the caves (again) and our tourguide was superb...good value for money. The kids really enjoyed the go carts (as did we) and the place just has a nice feel to it. Nothing to complain about and it was every bit as beautiful as we had remembered. We would recommend the Chatanooga area for anyone travelling around but it is particularly good for the kids...loads to do!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We camped at this campground because of its great location to downtown Chattanooga, and multiple attractions it has on site. It is within minutes of all the attractions that Chattanooga has, but also has a remote feel to it. The campground is beautiful, with graveled sites and large seasoned trees on the sites. The cave and go carts on site are a little over priced, but are good on site entertainment. However the one down spot was the park manager. He is an older man that is very rude, and does not know how to treat paying customers. The park was everything advertised, and is a great place to stay if visiting Chattanooga as long as the manager is avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank camper1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
5.8 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,714 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Inn
Best Western Royal Inn
#33 of 96 in Chattanooga
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Chattanooga Lookout Mountain West
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
14.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Chattanooga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raccoon Mountain RV Park and Campground

Address: 319 W Hills Rd, exit #174 off I-24, Chattanooga, TN 37419-2100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Chattanooga
Number of rooms: 157
Also Known As:
Raccoon Mountain Rv Park And Campground Hotel Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing