We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German food!”
Review of Brewhaus

Brewhaus
Ranked #44 of 837 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good German food!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by locals. We ate on the deck overlooking the park.
The deviled eggs were excellent! We shared the deviled eggs as an appetizer. Yum!
Bratwurst is a always a good choice!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fencin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    90
    28
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Definitly worth going to”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a small place on the North side of the river and it also has outside eating on the balcony. They serve German food. I had the Brewhaha and the sausages were tasty, as was the saurkraut and potatoes. Nice craft and German beer selection

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank fchsco80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A twist on authentic German cuisine”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Pleasant atmosphere, attentive staff, good and plentiful food. We went in the evening and the weather was cool enough to sit in the outside seating area. This was nice as there was a view of the bridge which made for a pleasant distraction. Ample beer choices, the menu is not extensive but covers most of your German fare, schnitzels, brats, spaetzle, saurkraut, etc. Not the best German restaurant, but tasty and fairly priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal09Madison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“German,maybe, authentic, no!!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Found the restaurant on TripAdvisor, and since my husband is ALWAYS looking for German restaurants, decided to give it a try. Not the best idea we've ever had! Food was forgettable and not very authentic. I had the breaded pork weinerschnitzel. 2 fairly large portions of meat that were breaded, (though more like batter) fried, and quite tough,and without lemon wedges, a staple for schnitzel, spatezel in some kind of cream and mushroom sauce, and beer red cabbage. Both sides were just okay. My husband had the brat and sausage combo served on canned (?) sauerkraut. His side of "German potato salad" was nothing but potatoes and bacon with a vinegar dressing, and his vegetable medley was fine, though nothing German there. No bread or rolls were offered. Service was good, although it took quite a while to get our food. Tea was good and refills kept coming. Kind of pricey for lunch at $40.00, including tip, but to be fair, our entrees were dinner size. No German atmosphere. It's Tennessee after all, not Germany, and you won't make the mistake of thinking you're in Germany if you decide to eat there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vichix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pretend German”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Brewhaus was recommended by a co-worker when he learned I would be in Chattanooga for a weekend. We took the downtown electric shuttle to the Tennessee River, only to learn that the second line, which goes over the river and near the Brewhaus had stopped running at 5:00 p.m., perhaps because it was Saturday. We walked across which was not tiring except for the rain and attendant humidity. The restaurant was crowded, a young-ish crowd. The beer was served European style (not cold). My companions did not comment on their orders, although one was not served as requested (a hamburger but without the bun) and the others finished their pimiento cheese sandwich and sausage. I ordered Jaeger Schnitzel, which the menu described as Wiener schnitzel served with mushroom gravy. Jaeger schnitzel is not breaded, which this was, and is typically served with broad egg noodles and gravy, which this was not. The Brewhaus version was breaded, and came with some cooked mushrooms dropped on top. No lemon wedge. The "German potato salad" was just potatoes with whole pieces of fried bacon and mixed withs vinegar. The "German slaw" was pretty good, but, again, unlike any slaw I've had in 19 trips to Germany. The sausage balls were good, service prompt and servers attentive. I would probably go back to try the sausages. Prices were reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewhaus also viewed

 

Been to Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing