We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #8 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My daughter was participating in the Head of the Hooch Regatta on the waterfront in Chattanooga. Having never visited Chattanooga before we weren't quite sure where to stay. After some research on TripAdvisor we decided to stay in the downtown area for access to the waterfront for the regatta on Saturday and at the same time it allowed us to experience the various dining and entertainment options downtown.
I made the reservation online with no trouble and elected for the ten dollar valet parking option. A couple days prior to arrival I called the hotel to request an early check in and the employee I spoke with was very helpful. Check in is normally at 4:00pm and we arrived at 2:00pm. I was prepared to not have a room yet but instead was greeted promptly and we had our keys in less than two minutes. The room was exceptionally clean as can also be said for the entire hotel. The location is not in the center of everything but there is a FREE electric (enclosed) trolley that runs from the resort to the waterfront every 5 minutes. We ate breakfast in the hotel at the buffet and the food was wonderful but again like everyone we met at the hotel it was the service. From the lady who greeted us to seat us to our server they couldn't have done a better job.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Chattanooga for impeccable service and clean updated accommodations.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2010

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding the Chattanoogan and our staff. The Head of the Hooch Regatta is an amazing event held in Chattanooga and we are proud to host its participants. We are already looking forward to next year and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,259 - 1,265 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

We spent a weekend at the Chattanoogan to celebrate a friend's birthday. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The windows have black-out curtains and on Saturday morning I actually slept far later than usual - it was dark, cool and quiet - which was perfect for me.

We ate one meal in the hotel restaurant - Saturday lunch. It was a buffet and for $10 per person was very good. Apparently during the week the buffet is quite popular with the business crowd. They don't always have it on the weekends but we got lucky.

Our friends had the large suite with the mountain view and it was wonderful. They were entertaining lots of friends and family from out of town and the living area of the suite was large enough to accomodate 20+ people at a time. The hotel staff were also very accomodating with small requests to help host this large group.

The bar is also a big attraction - they have live music on the weekends and several in our group stayed in the bar to enjoy the jazz ensemble that was performing on Saturday night.

The free electric shuttle stops a block away from the hotel so even though the main downtown attractions are a ways away from the hotel, a quick shuttle ride gets you there in just few minutes.

My only minor complaint is that the bed was a little on the firm side for me. Since I slept so late it obviously wasn't a big problem!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smdaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomCupo, General Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

We appreciate the great comments and look forward to your next visit...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This hotel would be great for singles or married couples without small children. First of all there is no gift shop for getting things you may have forgotten. It does have a spa gift shop with a few medications, but not a full gift shop. Second it has very limited television channels. If you want HBO for example you would need an upgrade card for $12.99 a night and there is NO pay per-view movies. We had to watch shows on our laptop through our watch instantly netflix. At least this hotel does have free internet. The only other thing we were disappointed about was the noise in the halls at all hours of the night. The room was clean and the staff was friendly, but I would not recommend this hotel for small children.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mommy80Huntindon_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Beautiful clean elegant hotel. Highly recommended. Nice convenient location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ucianteater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

My husband and I went for an anniversary trip. I book this hotel using my airline miles. The check in was very quick and service was friendly. The downside was the parking deck, which was $8/day. That money was worth it to me, because of the location of the hotel, I did not want to park on the streets. The restaurant had outstanding food and the service was great. The room was very clean. Nice comfy pillows and the sheets were not scratchy. I read a review where there was ink stains on the carpet--it is the style of the carpet. I thought there was ink on the carpet but it is just the coloring. (not to stay the other review didn't have ink on their carpet). Big bathroom and tub/shower combo that was very clean, no staining in the tub. Not much of a view, but the hotel is right downtown. I read other reviews and was very caution about staying here, but I went ahead and booked the room and we enjoyed our stay. Very close to all of the attractions, within a couple of miles of everything. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jolen4bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at The Chattanoogan. Our room was clean, the service was good, and the location just a few blocks from the free shuttle was convenient. The room was a little more spacious than at other hotels. The only problem with our room was that the bathroom door didn't lock, but we could work around that. We didn't eat at the hotel, mostly because we prefer to eat at local restaurants. There were plenty of restaurants that were suggested by the front desk personnel, and each one we tried was wonderful. The parking garage is attached to the hotel, but on the far end. The walk from the parking deck was comfortable, as you can enter the hotel and walk in the air conditioned hotel corridor. I would recommend this hotel without reservation and we'd stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank family4florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We spent our anniversary weekend (7/30-8/1/10 at the Chattanoogan.
I had read the reviews on here, and would not have picked this hotel based on the reviews,BUT, BUT, the manager, answered on here that they had revamped the hotel, non smoking, new everything on the 4&5th floors. So we decided to give it a try & asked for a room on the "refurbished" floor.
I even told the supervisor & hotel manager that I was doing a review for weekend stay-cations for a blog review. (they didn't seem to care) I asked WHEN the revamp was. I was told 6-1 yr ago! I asked WHAT had been replaced. AND was told only the mattress & carpet was replace. Maybe the matteress, but the carpet was disgusting.
Here's my rundown as to why it's not worth 160.00 a night:
1-all the floors, even the "refurbed" floors smelled of mold/mildrew--nasty
2-no mini-fridge in any rooms
3-bedding is frayed & worn
4-all furniture is worn (chairs, tables, ect)
5-the sinks/tubs in the baths are VERY slow to drain, while showering you find yourself staning knee deep in water, (nasty in my opinion) while brushing your teeth you find the sink in overflowing.
6-housekeeping woke us up at 9:00am wanting to clean our room-REALLY.
7-when we did come back for the day, the bed WAS made, but they did not bother to clean the toilets or bathtub.
YES, I addressed the worn state of the "reburbished" rooms w/ management. They did not seemed concerned. So please don't refute this & say you tryed to fix any of our complaints.
We added the breakfast to our package...eat at McDonalds. save some money. very Bland.
We added aquarium tickets at the same cost as buying them there. They only difference is it took twice as long, because you still have to stand in the long lines to have the switched from "vouchers" to aquarium tickets. There is no price break buying them at the hotel, you just have to stand in line the same as buying them at the aquarium. No benefit.
We were VERY disappointed in the quality that we paid for. I truely believe I could have gotten the same thing at a Motel 8.
After lookin at the Marriott downtown, I do believe that is where we will spend our next Chattanooga getaway. And have alot more money left over to do other things.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ddashby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
Chattanooga Marriott Downtown
#12 of 96 in Chattanooga
982 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#37 of 96 in Chattanooga
2,714 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range: $155 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing